Thank you for visiting Jagged Edge Reviews. We have a lot of exciting reviews, guest posts, cover reveals and book blitz coming up!

Monday, September 17, 2018

Blitz with giveaway: Unexpected Hostage by Layla Stone


Unexpected Hostage
Layla Stone
(Unexpected, #1)
Publication date: September 9th 2018
Genres: Adult, Romance, Science Fiction
Everyone says he’s dangerous.
Everyone is wrong.
My new cabin-mate is a telepath and the whole ship’s scared of him. I was too, for about three seconds. He’s quiet, but once I get him talking he’s the most fascinating man I’ve ever known. He shouldn’t be in that cage. He didn’t do anything wrong. But good thing he is, because I would love to snuggle down for a long night with a body like his.
Everyone thinks they’re safe.
Everyone is wrong.
My race is known for being peaceful, and I was too…until I was electrocuted, kidnapped, sold, and then put in a cage. I’ll get out of here soon, but while I plot my escape, I’ll enjoy my cabin-mate’s attention. She thinks she has figured me out. She’s not even close.
The ship is being attacked, a perfect diversion. There is only one problem…I want to take my cabin-mate with me.
Note to readers: This is a full length Sci-fi Romance Novel with action, adventure, adult humor and a steamy romance. Mature readers only.


Author Bio:
Layla Stone is an unapologetic romance junkie. As a self proclaimed Modern-Day Casanova of fictional men, she spins stories to create unique lovers with the plethora of races she's dreamed up.
Southern California is where she lives with her geeky husband and two rambunctious children.

XBTBanner1

Thursday, September 13, 2018

Review: Sadie by Courtney Summers

Title: Sadie
Author: Courtney Summers
Publisher: Wednesday Books
Publication Date: September 4, 2018
Pages: 320 pages
Where to buy: Amazon
Stars: 

Summary: A gripping novel about the depth of a sister's love; poised to be the next book you won't be able to stop talking about.


A missing girl on a journey of revenge and a Serial―like podcast following the clues she's left behind.
Sadie hasn't had an easy life. Growing up on her own, she's been raising her sister Mattie in an isolated small town, trying her best to provide a normal life and keep their heads above water.
But when Mattie is found dead, Sadie's entire world crumbles. After a somewhat botched police investigation, Sadie is determined to bring her sister's killer to justice and hits the road following a few meager clues to find him.
When West McCray―a radio personality working on a segment about small, forgotten towns in America―overhears Sadie's story at a local gas station, he becomes obsessed with finding the missing girl. He starts his own podcast as he tracks Sadie's journey, trying to figure out what happened, hoping to find her before it's too late.
Courtney Summers has written the breakout book of her career. Sadie is propulsive and harrowing and will keep you riveted until the last page.

Review:

Sadie was an interesting read to say the least. The start of the book was very slow, I personally had a hard time getting into it. But once the book reached a point that caught my attention I didn’t want to put it down. I did enjoy reading Sadie’s side of everything more, I felt like her side of everything was a bit more exciting. The way the author told the story with the podcast was intriguing, it was a little harder to get into. When I got to the ending of the book, I was very upset with how it ended. I felt like the author left a cliff hanger. I actually went back and reread Sadie’s side to make sure I didn’t miss something. I was frustrated with the book, from the slow beginning to the cliff hanging ending.  I think the book would be a good read for someone who likes the constant change of characters and that mystery feel about it. I personally am not the biggest fan of mysteries. I think others would highly enjoy the read more than I did myself. 
-Victoria

Blitz with giveaway: Your Echo by Katia Rose


Your Echo
Katia Rose
(Sherbrooke Station, #2)
Publication date: September 12th 2018
Genres: Adult, Comedy, Contemporary, Romance
How do you teach a rock star how to meditate?
The number one question on Stéphanie’s mind sounds like the start of a bad joke, and life would be a whole lot easier if she actually knew the punch line.
Her meditation coach job description said nothing about private lessons for the most infamous lead singer in Montreal, but somehow Stéphanie still finds herself sitting cross-legged on a yoga mat, right next to a pierced and tattooed music legend who’d rather be anywhere else.
Meditation classes are Ace’s final chance to convince his record label that the last bender he went on really was his last. The demons that have sent him to the bottom of countless bottles might not give a damn about ‘soothing rhythmic chanting,’ but it’s either this or game over for his career.
He’s not what she wants. She’s not what he’s looking for. Yet somewhere amidst all the incense fumes, the lines between student and teacher get blurred.
Even as their deep breathing exercises become nights filled with panting and gasps, Stéphanie can’t ignore the darkness that never quite leaves Ace’s eyes. It’s a darkness she knows far too well, and if she’s not careful, the cost of helping Ace find his way might just be losing herself.
Your Echo is part of the Sherbrooke Station Quartet, a series of steamy rock star standalones from author Katia Rose.
SNEAK PEEK:
And that’s how I end up singing ‘I’m On Fire’ in a Montreal KTV bar, stone cold sober, while people whip out their smart phones and I try not to think about all the places this video is going to end up. I just stare at Stéphanie from the raised platform that serves as a stage, watching her watch me as the rest of the crowd cheers. At first I’m only fucking around, adding an extra rasp to the words and playing up the sexuality in the lyrics to the point that it’s funny, but something changes the further I get into the song. The slow build of the synth—the tension that rises and rises but never quite breaks—catches up with me, and by the time I get to the long, wavering howls at the end, I can see Stéphanie’s chest heaving even harder than mine.


Author Bio:
Katia Rose is not much of a Pina Colada person, but she does like getting caught in the rain. She prefers her romance served steamy with a side of smart, and is a sucker for quirky characters. A habit of jetting off to distant countries means she’s rarely in one place for very long, but she calls the frigid northland that is Canada home.

XBTBanner1

Monday, September 10, 2018

Blitz: Scandalous by Sybil Bartel


Scandalous
Sybil Bartel
(Alpha Bodyguard #1)
Publication date: September 10th 2018
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Bodyguard.
Babysitter.
Chauffeur.
Not what the hell I thought I’d be doing with my life.
Especially not for a spoiled Hollywood actress on location in Miami Beach. But triple pay and carrying a gun had its advantages. I’d shove away paparazzi and screaming fans for a lot less. The Marines trained me to be Force Recon—intimidation and crowd control was child’s play compared to four tours. This assignment should’ve been easy money.
But the doe-eyed starlet with the perfect ass dragged me down her rabbit hole. Living for the spotlight, she leaked the perfect scandal. I warned her making headlines wasn’t in my job description, but she kept smiling for the cameras.
Now she was going to find out just how scandalous a bodyguard could be.
*SCANDALOUS is a sexy standalone book in the new Alpha Bodyguard Series!
The Alpha Bodyguard Series
SCANDALOUS – Tank’s story
MERCILESS – Collins’s story
RECKLESS – Tyler’s story
RUTHLESS – Sawyer’s story
EXCERPT:
“Do you like me?”
A bite halfway to my mouth, I froze for a fraction of a second. Then I chewed slowly and kept my eyes off her, because it was all part of the game. “You don’t strike me as the insecure type.” I took another bite, not knowing if I should be disappointed in her lack of confidence, or watching her for whatever game she was trying to play me with.
“This isn’t about insecurity,” she countered.
Bullshit. She was wondering why I’d said what I’d said. Horny as fuck, bored with talking, I dropped my fork and grasped her nape. Then I put my eyes on her.
She drank me up like she was starving.
Deliberately, I picked her fork up, stabbed some food and brought it to her lips. Lowering my voice, I tested her. “Open your mouth.”
For two heartbeats she stared at me.
Anticipation surged, wondering if she’d comply, but ultimately hoping she wouldn’t. I bent women. I made them cave to my commands, then I gave them the mind-blowing orgasms they wanted. But it was never a challenge. It hadn’t been for years. In fact, I couldn’t remember the last time a woman had been a challenge.
That alone should’ve been a warning. But add in the fact that I wanted this young-as-fuck, spoiled, hot mess of a woman to be my own personal fuck toy, and I should’ve been calling Luna to tell him to pull my ass off this assignment.
The only smart move was to disengage.
But I didn’t fucking do it.
I increased the pressure on the back of her neck, I touched the food to her lips, and I actually put fucking effort into my command. Stroking her neck, taking the threat out of my tone, I dropped my disinterested expression and let her see how goddamn much I wanted her. “Eat the food, Audrina.”


Author Bio:
Sybil Bartel grew up in Northern California with her head in a book and her feet in the sand. She dreamt of becoming a painter but the heady scent of libraries with their shelves full of books drew her into the world of storytelling. She loves the New Adult genre, but any story about a love so desperately wrong and impossibly beautiful makes her swoon.
Sybil now resides in Southern Florida and while she doesn’t get to read as much as she likes, she still buries her toes in the sand. If she isn’t writing or fighting to contain the banana plantation in her backyard, you can find her spending time with her handsomely tattooed husband, her brilliantly practical son and a mischievous miniature boxer…
But Seriously?
Here are ten things you probably really want to know about Sybil.
She grew up a faculty brat. She can swear like a sailor. She loves men in uniform. She hates being told what to do. She can do your taxes (but don’t ask). The Bird Market in Hong Kong freaks her out. Her favorite word is desperate…or dirty, or both—she can’t decide. She has a thing for muscle cars. But never reply on her for driving directions, ever. And she has a new book boyfriend every week—don’t tell her husband.
To find out more about Sybil Bartel, be sure to follow her on Twitter (she loves to hear about your favorite book boyfriend!), visit her website, like her on Facebook or join her Facebook group Book Boyfriend Heroes for exclusive excerpts and giveaways.

XBTBanner1

Friday, September 7, 2018

Cover reveal: Ridge by S.L Scott


Title: RIDGEAuthor: S.L. Scott
Genre: Standalone Contemporary Romance
Release Date: September 20thCover Design: RBA DesignsGoodreads: http://bit.ly/RidgeGR

🎸SYNOPSIS 🎸

The One didn’t exist.

Then I met Meadow.

The band's honorary little sister was off-limits. Too late for that. She says we’re “nothing serious,” but she’s gotten under my skin and I can’t stop thinking about her. And when I touch her, I know we’re meant to be.

Happy Endings don’t exist.

Not even with Ridge.

My big plans never included falling for a rock star. Too soon for that. He wants to make us a “thing,” and I can’t deny our chemistry is combustible. His persistence is wearing me down, making his proposition hard to resist.

If true love only exists in fairy tales, why am I beginning to believe that Ridge just might be my happily ever after?





ABOUT S.L. SCOTT


Living in the capital of Texas with her family, Scott loves traveling and avocados, beaches, and cooking with her kids. She's obsessed with epic romances and loves a good plot twist. Her favorite color is blue, but she likens it more toward the sky than the emotion. Her home is filled with the welcoming symbol of the pineapple and finds surfing a challenge though she likes to think she's a pro.

AUTHOR LINKS

Saturday, September 1, 2018

Blitz with giveaway: The Warrior Princess by Siobhan Davis


The Warrior Princess
Siobhan Davis
(Alinthia #3)
Publication date: August 28th 2018
Genres: Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
She’ll tear the galaxy apart to save them…
Captured by a special, secret government agency, Alinthia is now facing another new reality—one where she’s separated from the four guys who have come to mean so much to her. But she has faith in Dane, Coop, Maddox, and Beck, and she refuses to give up hope.
Until she discovers General Arantu and his despicable daughter, have imprisoned her protectors and time is running out to save them.
Desperate to escape the government’s clutches and rescue her loved ones, Alinthia finds unlikely allies in the strangest of places. With their help, she finally understands what is required to assume full control of her powers and fulfil her legacy.
However, the more she uncovers about herself and her abilities, the more she understands how fragile the line is between good and evil, darkness and light, right and wrong.
Will she make the ultimate sacrifice in the name of love, or are there some lines that can’t ever be crossed?
The third book in the enchanting Alinthia series is intended for readers aged seventeen and older. This is upper YA/NA crossover reverse harem paranormal romance which gets steamier as the series develops. This is not a standalone read. Full-length novel.
Previous books in the series:
EXCERPT:
Cooper
I come to, groaning as several of my senses are assaulted at once. A putrid, decaying smell tickles my nostrils, and I’d probably puke if I was human and capable of vomiting. Moans, cries, and screams filter into the room from somewhere outside. Shivers tiptoe up my spine as a blast of cold air sweeps over me, and my arms ache like a bitch. A dull pounding in my head and pain burning at the back of my eyes make seeing difficult, but I push through my discomfort, forcing myself back to consciousness.
Slowly, my vision clears, and my surroundings come into focus.
Mad Dog and Beck are still unconscious,” Dane says into my mind.
Where are we, and how the fuck did we get here?” The last thing I remember is being ambushed by Alandra and a bunch of goons outside Kylie’s house. I put up the mother of all fights, but I was outnumbered, and they had the element of surprise. It’s embarrassing how easily they overpowered me after that.
My head spins around, my eyes scanning the small cell. The walls are exposed stone, and the floors are coarse black slate. It’s dirty, cold, and unforgiving under my butt. There is little natural light in the room, the only glimmer of brightness trickling in through a small, open window above my head.
Beck, Maddox, and Dane are all stripped to their boxers, arms elevated, and wrists bound together, chained to the stone wall. I look down at myself, confirming I’m in the same predicament. “Where’s Alinthia?” The connection that bonds my brothers and I to our girl thrashes anxiously about, trying and failing to locate our missing piece. “Where is she, Dane?
It’s not good, Coop, and it’s all my fault.
Copyright © Siobhan Davis 2018


Author Bio:
USA Today bestselling author Siobhan Davis writes emotionally intense young adult and new adult romantic fiction with swoon-worthy romance, complex characters, and tons of unexpected plot twists and turns that will have you flipping the pages beyond bedtime! She is the author of the international bestselling Kennedy Boys, Saven, and True Calling series’.
Siobhan’s family will tell you she’s a little bit obsessive when it comes to reading and writing, and they aren’t wrong. She can rarely be found without her trusty Kindle, a paperback book, or her laptop somewhere close at hand.
Prior to becoming a full-time writer, Siobhan forged a successful corporate career in human resource management.
She resides in the Garden County of Ireland with her husband and two sons.

XBTBanner1

Friday, August 31, 2018

Blitz: Unbreak This Heart by Betty Shreffler




Title: Unbreak This Heart
Author: Betty Shreffler
Genre: Contemporary Romance Standalone
Release Date: August 31, 2018



Blurb

Ever since that horrific night, I’d shut men completely out of my life. I’d gone from the spunky, fun, Alex DeMarco to a broken woman terrified of intimacy. Easing me back into dating, my best friend sets me up with kickboxing lessons from my charming and perfectly sculpted instructor—Carter Maxwell.   

Carter’s goal is to break through my emotional barrier and mold my heart just like he molds my body, but trusting men is a battle I’m not ready for. What’s worse is my ex fiancé, Todd Livingston—the man who tore my heart in two—wants me back, and as much as I’d like to deny it, the feelings are still there.

Both men want what I can’t give—my body and my love—and neither are willing to give up the fight. But only one of them can unbreak this heart of mine. 







Purchase Links

99c for a limited time

AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU

Free in Kindle Unlimited





Praise for
Unbreak This Heart

"Every single page has you addicted and craving more." ~ Goodreads Reviewer

"Holy Moly! This book was an emotional rollercoaster, I went through every emotion possible. Alex's story shows that a person can survive a tragedy, and become a stronger person in the end...This is for sure one of my top reads of 2018. This is a must read!" ~ Goodreads Reviewer





Author Bio

Betty Shreffler is a bestselling author of paranormal romantic suspense and contemporary romance. She writes sexy and suspenseful stories with hot alphas and kickass heroines with twists you don’t expect. She also writes beautiful and sexy romances with tough women and their journeys at finding love. Betty is a mix of country, nerdy, sassy, sweet and a whole lot of sense of humor. She’s a fan of photography, reading, watching movies, hiking, traveling, drinking wine, and all things romantic. She lives with her amazing hubs and five fur babies. If she’s not writing or doing book events, then you can find her behind the lens of a camera, in the woods, or sipping wine behind a deliciously steamy book.


Author Links




Thursday, August 30, 2018

Blitz: Perception by Kendra Leigh




Title: Perception
Author: Kendra Leigh
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Release Date: August 30, 2018



Blurb

Jackson Dean is a changed man—at least he thinks he is—but when a brush with the past leads him back into territory he’s long since left behind, he finds himself at war with his conscience. Snatching Savannah Harper from a Brooklyn street may have been okay with the wild and reckless guy he used to be, but what about now?

Savannah is used to a life of brutality at the hands of her husband, but being stuffed into the trunk of a car by a brown-eyed stranger injects a fresh wave of terror into her heart.

What transpires between Jackson and Savannah surprises both of them. Despite the unconventional way they’re thrown together, they form a bond that begins to challenge everything they know.

His Past. Her present. Their future.

Surrendering to the feelings they’ve unearthed will be a minefield, but it’s going up against the unknown that tests them to their limits.

As the lines between perception and reality blur, it appears that nothing is as it seems.

Perception is not reality… and reality can be soul-destroying.

Perception is a standalone romantic suspense novel featuring a favorite character from The Bound Trilogy. If you enjoy reading stories about strong women and their journeys from victim to survivor, and the men who will go to any lengths to fight for the women they fall for, then you will love this #MeToo inspired heart-wrenching romance.

Warning: Subject matter deals with domestic violence, including physical and emotional abuse, which may be triggering for some people.










Purchase Links

AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU

Free in Kindle Unlimited






Author Bio


Kendra Leigh fell in love with words and reading as a young child. She was at her happiest when Enid Blyton whisked her away up into the magical lands at the top of the Faraway Tree with Moon-face and the rest of the gang.

Now, of course, she has more of a fondness for chocolate, cheese and hot men in suits - not necessarily in that order.

Kendra devotes her life to her devilishly handsome partner, scandalously beautiful daughter and cute as hell Shih-Tzu. She believes in love at first sight, and as well as writing and reading, Kendra has a passion for great movies and brilliantly written TV.


Author Links





Wednesday, August 29, 2018

Excerpt and a little Q&A: Sadie by Courtney Summers
















THE GIRLS
EPISODE 1

[THE GIRLS THEME]

WEST McCRAY:
Welcome to Cold Creek, Colorado. Population: eight hun- dred.

Do a Google Image search and you’ll see its main street, the barely beating heart of that tiny world, and find every other building vacant or boarded up. Cold Creeks luckiestthe gainfully employed—work at the local grocery store, the gas station and a few other staple businesses along the strip. The rest have to look a town or two over for opportunity for them- selves and for their children; the closest schools are in Park- dale, forty minutes away. They take in students from three other towns.

Beyond its main street, Cold Creek arteries out into worn and chipped Monopoly houses that no longer have a place upon the board. From there lies a rural sort of wilderness. The


4       c o u r t n e y  s u m m e r s


highway out is interrupted by veins of dirt roads leading to nowhere as often as they lead to pockets of dilapidated houses or trailer parks in even worse shape. In the summer- time, a food bus comes with free lunches for the kids until the school year resumes, guaranteeing at least two subsidized meals a day.

There’s a quiet to it that’s startling if you’ve lived your whole life in the city, like I have. Cold Creek is surrounded by a beau- tiful, uninterrupted expanse of land and sky that seem to go on forever. Its sunsets are spectacular; electric golds and oranges, pinks and purples, natural beauty unspoiled by the insult of skyscrapers. The sheer amount of space is humbling, almost divine. It’s hard to imagine feeling trapped here.

But most people here do.

COLD CREEK RESIDENT [FEMALE]:
You live in Cold Creek because you were born here and if youre born here, youre probably never getting out.

WEST McCRAY:
Thats not entirely true. There have been some success sto- ries, college graduates who moved on and found well-paying jobs in distant cities, but they tend to be the exception and not the rule. Cold Creek is home to a quality of life we’re raised to aspire beyond, if we’re born privileged enough to have the choice.

Here, everyone’s working so hard to care for their families and keep their heads above water that, if they wasted time on the petty dramas, scandals and personal grudges that seem to define small towns in our nation’s imagination, they would not survive. Thats not to say there’s no drama, scandal, or


s a di e       5


grudge—just that those things are usually more than residents of Cold Creek can afford to care about.

Until it happened.

The husk of an abandoned, turn-of-the-century one-room schoolhouse sits three miles outside of town, taken by fire. The roof is caved in and what’s left of the walls are charred. It sits next to an apple orchard that’s slowly being reclaimed by the nature that surrounds it: young overgrowth, new trees, wild- flowers.

There’s almost something romantic about it, something that feels like respite from the rest of the world. Its the perfect place to be alone with your thoughts. At least it was, before.

May Beth Fosterwho you’ll come to know as this series goes on—took me there herself. I asked to see it. She’s a plump, white, sixty-eight-year-old woman with salt-and-pepper hair. She has a grandmotherly way about her, right down to a voice that’s so invitingly familiar it warms you from the inside out. May Beth is manager of Sparkling River Estates trailer park, a lifelong resident of Cold Creek, and when she talks, people listen. More often than not, they accept whatever she says as the truth.

MAY BETH FOSTER:
Just about . . . here.

This is where they found the body.

911 DISPATCHER [PHONE]:

911 dispatch. What’s your emergency?



SADIE Blog Tour Q&A

1.       Did you experience more difficulty writing one or the other, or did you like writing in one form more? How much of the novel did you write in chronological order, and how much did you jump around?

I enjoyed both of them. Writing Sadie’s perspective was very familiar to me because all of my books feature an intensely close first person, female point-of-view. Writing West’s perspective, the podcast format, proved a little more challenging. Not so much because of the way it was written (scripts) but because each episode had to propel Sadie’s narrative forward and give us a different way of looking at the things she went through.

So far, I’ve only ever been able to write in chronological order!


2.       Was this how you always envisioned the book or did it change as you wrote it?

Regina Spektor said something really interesting about writing songs that I’ve always loved and related to as an author. She said, “[A]s soon as you try and take a song from your mind into piano and voice and into the real world, something gets lost and it’s like a moment where, in that moment you forget how it was and it’s this new way. And then when you make a record, even those ideas that you had, then those get all turned and changed. So in the end, I think, it just becomes its own thing and really I think a song could be recorded a million different ways and so what my records are, it just happened like that, but it’s not like, this is how I planned it from the very beginning because I have no idea, I can’t remember.”

I feel something similar when writing—the heart of my idea remains intact, but the way it takes its ultimate form is always a little different (or even a lot different) than I might have been expecting, which makes it difficult to recall the starting point. But that’s okay as long as the heart is still there and you’re satisfied with and believe in what you’ve created.

3.       What was the most surprising thing you learned in creating your characters? Which of your characters do you most identify with, and why?

When I first started Sadie, I was extremely skeptical of West—he had to prove himself to readers over the course of his narrative and given the nature of his job, I was curious to see where writing him would take me. I really loved the way his arc unfolded. I wasn’t necessarily surprised by it, but more gratified by it than I realized I would be.

I identify with little pieces of all of my characters, but I like to keep those to myself because I don’t want risk readers thinking about me while they read. I like my role as an author to be invisible.

4.       What gave you the idea for SADIE?

One of the things that inspired Sadie was the way we consume violence against women and girls as a form of entertainment. When we do that, we reduce its victims to objects, which suggests a level of disposability—that a girl’s pain is only valuable to us if we’re being entertained by it. But it’s not her responsibility to entertain us. What is our responsibility to us? I really wanted to explore that and the way we dismiss missing girls and what the cost of that ultimately is.

5.       Do you have a favorite scene, quote, or moment from Sadie?

My favorite moment is a spoiler, but my favorite quote is this: “I wish this was a love story.”

6.       If you could tell your younger writing self-anything, what would it be?

I used to have an answer for this kind of question but the older I get, that’s changed. I wouldn’t tell her anything. Her experience as a writer unfolded the way it was supposed to and I like how it’s turning out.

*THE GIRLS Podcast now available*

* A 2018 BookExpo America YA Editor’s Buzz Book Pick*
*Most Anticipated by BookRiot, Goodreads, B&N Teen Blog & Buzzfeed *

“A riveting tour de force.”
 —Kirkus, STARRED Review

"Summers’ novel is filled with her trademark biting commentary on sexual assault and the mistreatment of girls and women at the hands of predatory men...her hunt for Mattie’s killer is captivating, and Summers excels at slowly unspooling both Sadie’s and West’s investigations at a measured, tantalizing pace." 
—Booklist, STARRED Review

“A taut, suspenseful book about abuse and power that feels personal, as if Summers, like May Beth and West, can’t take one more dead or abused girl.”
—Publishers Weekly, STARRED Review

"The fresh, nuanced, and fast-moving narrative will appeal to a range of YA and new adult readers, and serves as a larger examination on the way society interacts with true crime...It's impossible to not be drawn into this haunting thriller of a book. A heartrending must-have."
—School Library Journal, STARRED Review

An electrifying thriller, taut as a bowstring. A coming-of-age tale, both gritty and sensitive. A poignant drama of love and loss. This -- all this -- is SADIE: a novel for readers of any age, and a character as indelible as a scar. Flat-out dazzling." —AJ Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window



SADIE
By Courtney Summers


Courtney Summers is already known for her well written and dark young adult novels, earning rave starred trade reviews on every book. With a fierce and independent female lead, SADIE (September 4, 2018; Wednesday Books) continues in this vein told in part as a podcast, similar to Serial, about a missing girl determined to avenge her sister’s death. A propulsive and harrowing read that will keep you riveted until the last page, Courtney Summers has written the breakout book of her career.

Sadie hasn't had an easy life. Growing up on her own, she's been raising her sister Mattie in an

isolated small town, trying her best to provide a normal life and keep their heads above water.

But when Mattie is found dead, Sadie's entire world crumbles. After a somewhat botched police investigation, Sadie is determined to bring her sister's killer to justice and hits the road following a few meager clues to find him.

When West McCray—a radio personality working on a segment about small, forgotten towns in America—overhears Sadie's story at a local gas station, he becomes obsessed with finding the missing girl. He starts his own podcast as he tracks Sadie's journey, trying to figure out what happened, hoping to find her before it's too late.

As the pages turn, your heart will be in your throat the whole way. SADIE is darkly delicious and addictive, the perfect fall read. As a major Editor's Buzz Book Pick at BEA, Summers’ thriller will be the book to read this season, and in a creative twist, the first YA thriller podcast. THE GIRLS released the first episode on August 1st bringing SADIE to life in a new way by picking up the script content from the book and using the under-explored content area in the podcast area of teen listeners. Combining a haunting novel and additional material through the podcast, Summers has changed the way readers experienced books.


About the Author
COURTNEY SUMMERS lives and writes in Canada. She is the author of What Goes Around, This is Not a Test, Fall for Anything, Some Girls Are, Cracked Up to Be, Please Remain Calm, and All the Rage 
  

More about THE GIRLS podcast:
THE GIRLS: Find Sadie is the first-ever YA thriller podcast. The Serial-like show is based off the novel Sadie by Courtney Summers. In a brilliant move, Summers scripted periodic chapters of the novel like a podcast script, hosted by fictional radio personality West McCray. The six-part podcast series brings these chapters to life with a 30+ person cast, music, and sound effects and was a collaboration between Macmillan Audio, Macmillan Podcasts, and Wednesday Books. Episode 1 launches on August 1st, and the show will air seven weekly episodes available on all the major podcast platforms. The final episode will feature a bonus interview with Courtney Summers and her editor Sara Goodman.


SADIE
By Courtney Summers
Published by Wednesday Books
**On Sale September 4, 2018**
Hardcover | $17.99
ISBN: 9781250105714| Ebook ISBN: 9781250105721

More early praise for SADIE:

"SADIE is an electrifying, high-stakes road trip—a gripping thriller with a true—crime podcast edge. Clear your schedule. You're not going anywhere until you've reached the end." 
—Stephanie Perkins, New York Times bestselling author of There's Someone Inside Your House and Anna and the French Kiss

"A haunting, gut-wrenching, and relentlessly compelling read. SADIE grabs you and won't let you go until you've borne witness." —Veronica Roth, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Carve the Mark and The Divergent series

"Summers has pulled no punches when it comes to diving into the darker side of teen lives.” – Bustle

“We love a good podcast mystery, so we are here for this fall 2018 release from Wednesday Books.” – RT Book Reviews

Praise for Courtney Summers:

“Unflinching and powerful.”
Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review on All The Rage

“Through its resolution is neither tidy nor simple, Romy’s powerful story creates a space for change.”
Publishers Weekly, Starred Review on All The Rage

“Not all loose ends are tied up by the end, and the book is more powerful for it.”
School Library Journal, Starred Review on All The Rage

ALL THE RAGE is a powerful portrait of rape culture. It illustrates the insidious nature of victim blaming and communities that insulate their golden boys, as well as the many emotions that survivors cycle through. This story doesn’t hold back, at all, taking you directly into the maelstrom of being a teenage girl.”
Rookie Magazine on All The Rage

“Courtney Summers' 'All the Rage' Will Make You Feel All The Rage, And That's Exactly Why You Must Read It”
—Bustle on All The Rage

“Summers takes victim-shaming to task in this timely story, and the cruelties not only of Romy’s classmates but also the adults she should be able to trust come heartbreakingly to the fore. Romy’s internal monologue is breathy and filled with bitter indignation.”
Booklist on All The Rage

“Rape culture, class prejudice, and bullying are all handled sensitively and powerfully in this novel.   Readers will definitely be compelled to find out whether Romy breaks free from her demons or implodes from the pressure.” —Voya Magazine on All The Rage

“Romy’s anguish dominates her narration, and the details of her experience—the victim-blaming by her classmates, both boys and girls, and her keeping it all secret from her mother—are acutely observed… In fact, injustice and privilege are the major themes of the novel, and those are topics that ensure this book will elicit lively classroom discussion.”  
The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books on All The Rage

One of the most powerful, heartbreaking and emotionally charged stories about rape, interracial relationships and friendship.  Courtney Summers intricately weaves mystery, lies and heartbreak throughout this powerful novel. Reminiscent of Laurie Halse Anderson’s Speak, All the Rage grabs hold and won’t let go. Romy’s story is violent in nature and language, but there is no other way to convey the hurt, anger and heartwrenching emotional and psychological issues that she faces. This is a beautiful story that speaks to all women.”
BookPage on All The Rage

"[A]n unforgettable and powerful vision of the end of the world, up close and personal."
The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, starred review on This Is Not a Test

"It's The Breakfast Club, George Romero style."
Publishers Weekly, starred review on This Is Not a Test

"Summers' latest hits every plot point to perfection... This is one supremely talented writer."
RT Book Reviews, 4 ½ Stars (Top Pick) on This Is Not a Test

"Zombie fans will eat this up, brains, hearts and all."
Booklist on This Is Not a Test

"[A] riveting and powerful novel."
School Library Journal on This Is Not a Test

"Unusual and absorbing."
Kirkus reviews on This Is Not a Test

"One of the sharpest and hardest-hitting of Canada's writers about high school life."
The Toronto Star on Fall for Anything

"An unusual, bold effort that deserves attention."
Kirkus Reviews, starred review on Fall for Anything

"Mysterious, romantic, and excruciating in its suspense... hauntingly written and compulsively readable."
Booklist, starred review on Fall for Anything

"This is a fearless and wonderfully executed young adult novel."
RT Book Reviews, 4 ½ Stars on Fall for Anything

"Searing... a riveting journey."
Shelf Awareness on Fall for Anything

Popular Posts