Sunday, April 5, 2015

Review: More than this by Jay Mclean

Title: More than this
Author: Jay Mclean
Publisher: Kindle Edition
Publication date: July 10, 2013
Stars: 5 stars

Summary: When Mikayla imagined her prom night, she envisioned a fairy-tale evening full of romance. So when betrayal and tragedy come in quick succession, Mikayla is completely destroyed. Suddenly, everything she loved and everyone she relied on are tragically, irrevocably gone. Jake, a handsome boy she just met, happens to witness her loss. With no one to turn to, Mikayla is forced to depend on this near stranger and his family, and he in turn is determined to take care of her. But Mikayla—thrust into adulthood with no one to guide her—is desperate to contain her grief and hide what she considers to be her weakness. Mikayla and Jake both want more, but despite their growing closeness and intense chemistry, she tries to keep her distance and protect her heart. As he does everything in his power to win her trust, Mikayla must choose between remaining alone and safe or letting love in.

Review: This book is amazing. I love the small shocking twists and turns. A little unrealistic with how fast they trust each other but amazing none the less! This book will definitely make you shed a tear or two. I love a good love story. I am so happy I choose to make this book the first book I finished this year. You must read this book.

Tuesday, March 31, 2015

Review: Becoming Rain by K.A. Tucker

Title: Becoming Rain
Author: K.A. Tucker
Publisher: Atria
Publication date: March 3, 2015

Summary: Luke Boone doesn't know exactly what his uncle Rust is involved in but he wants in on it—the cars, the money, the women. And it looks like he's finally getting his wish. When Rust hands him the managerial keys to the garage, they come with a second set—one that opens up the door to tons of cash and opportunity. Though it's not exactly legal, Luke's never been one to worry about that sort of thing. Especially when it puts him behind the wheel of a Porsche 911 and onto the radar of a gorgeous socialite named Rain.

Clara Bertelli is at the top of her game—at only twenty-six years old, she's one of the most successful undercover officers in the Washington, DC, major crime unit, and she's just been handed a case that could catapult her career and expose one of the West coast's most notorious car theft rings. But, in order to do it, she'll need to go deep undercover as Rain Martines. Her target? The twenty-four-year-old nephew of a key player who appears ready to follow in his uncle's footsteps.

As Clara drifts deeper into the luxurious lifestyle of Rain, and further into the arms of her very attractive and charming target, the lines between right and wrong start to blur, making her wonder if she'll be able to leave it all behind. Or if she'll even want to. 

Review: I absolutely loved this book! It is the first book in a really long time I've been able to just jump into. At first I will admit I wasn't quite sure I would be able to read it. For me it started out kind of dull and slow. But soon enough I was hooked and hoping to not have to go to work so I could just keep reading. I fell in love with Rain and Luke quickly and always hoped for the best. Books like this always renew my belief in Love. The best part about this is that the whole focus is not romance. Yet it feels like that's all that matters. I absolutely will be looking for more books by this author. As always I wish the story would never end! 4 stars

Tuesday, January 13, 2015

Teaser Tuesday

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading, that allows us to share a teaser from our current reads each week. Anyone can join, and the rules are simple. Just:

Grab your current read
Open it to a random page
Share two (2) "teaser" sentences from somewhere on that page
Be careful not to include spoilers! (You don't want to ruin the book for anyone!)
And make sure to share the title and author, too, so that other Teaser Tuesdays can add those books to their TBR piles in case they want to.

Here's our teaser for this week:
"That's my favorite Vonnegut quote' she said, pointing at the line I urge you to please notice when you are happy Hudson felt himself blush, wondering whether to confess that he had been the one to write it on the chalkboard a week ago." - Let's Get Lost by Adi Alsaid

What teasers do you guys have this week? Tell us in the comments!

Wednesday, January 7, 2015

Hello!!

I am happy to tell you all that I am back! My first review back (and of the year) will be on a book called Let's Get Lost by Adi Alsaid.
I know it's been quite sometime since I have posted and actually kept up on the blog. I do apologize for that I had some issues in my life that had to be taken care of. Now that everything is better and I hope you will all stick around while I try to jump back in to where I left off on the blog. Thank you all in advance for being patient with me. :)

-Kati

Also, I hope you all excuse me on missing so many blog birthdays! Happy belated 4th birthday blog! 💙

Sunday, October 19, 2014

Review: A Farewell to Arms by Ernest Hemingway

Title: A Farewell to Arms
Author: Ernest Hemingway
Stars: 4 Stars


Summary: The best American novel to emerge from World War I, A Farewell to Arms is the unforgettable story of an American ambulance driver on the Italian front and his passion for a beautiful English nurse. Hemingway’s frank portrayal of the love between Lieutenant Henry and Catherine Barkley, caught in the inexorable sweep of war, glows with an intensity unrivaled in modern literature, while his description of the German attack on Caporetto—of lines of fired men marching in the rain, hungry, weary, and demoralized—is one of the greatest moments in literary history. A story of love and pain, of loyalty and desertion, A Farewell to Arms, written when he was thirty years old, represents a new romanticism for Hemingway.

Review: The beginning of the book was a little slow for me. But then I started swearing at Miss Van Campen for being such a mean old lady. It's been a while since I've sworn at a book. Some people just can't leave well enough alone. I like Catherine. Maybe I'm just biased on the name tho. :) The end of the book... Seriously just makes me want to cry. Where is the happy ending? Where's my hopeless romance? Why do you have to be so sad and depressing? OK sorry to many questions for a review. Haha. I do recommend this book. 4 Stars!

Monday, October 6, 2014

Review: The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas

Author: Alexandre Dumas
Introduction and notes: Luc Sante
Title: The Count of Monte Cristo
Publisher: Barnes and Noble classics
Pub date: 2004 (1844-1845)
Pages: 591
Stars: 4.5

Summary: Dashing young Edmond Dantès has everything. He is engaged to a beautiful woman, is about to become the captain of a ship, and is well liked by almost everyone. But his perfect life is shattered when he is framed by a jealous rival and thrown into a dark prison cell for 14 years.

Review: At first I didn't like the way they went between the characters. However, later in the book I was very happy that it was like that. I really liked this book! The beginning was a little difficult for me to get into but once I did you couldn't get me to put it down. Took me four days to read it so maybe a total of 20-30 hours. My mother picked on me for two reasons one it took me four days to read the book instead of one and the other reason was because I borrowed the book even though I normally just read the books I receive for review. The story line and the characters are amazing! In the start of the book you could really feel Edmond and mercédès love for each other. The book was filled with plenty of awe inspiring self discovery. This book is truly a classic and it makes me want to read more classics. I really loved this book and found almost no problems with it. Except for the fact of it felt like it was missing the fairy tale end with all the romance. But I'm a hopeless romantic so that just can't be helped. I would absolutely recommend this book to anyone. It's worth trying. Amazing!

Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Review: The Summer I found you by Jolene Perry

Title: The Summer I found you
Author: Jolene Perry
Publication Date: 2014
Publisher: Albert Whitman & Company
Pages: 256
Stars: 4.5 stars

Summary: Kate's dream boyfriend has just broken up with her and she's still reeling from her diagnosis of type 1 diabetes. 

Aidan planned on being a lifer in the army and went to Afghanistan straight out of high school. Now he's a disabled young veteran struggling to embrace his new life. 

When Kate and Aidan find each other neither one wants to get attached. But could they be right for each other after all?

Review: I really love this book. I feel like the story has two very good subjects that it is focused on. First wounded warriors, that's a huge part of this story. Also, a very large portion of way I loved this book. Adian is a young man who just lost someone who is very important to him and some one who has lost his arm.  Second diabetes, not many people understand this disease or how it affects people. I personally have multiple family members who suffer from diabetes. Main female character, I feel like I understand her well. I seem to be always drawn to characters who are strange. I don't know if that shows you my personality or just how I feel about myself. I feel like the author did a very good job with this book and all of her characters. I want to see more with these characters. I really like the cover, It's very pretty. 4.5 stars

Popular Posts