Monday, June 16, 2014

Dear Authors/publisher's/etc

Hello lovelies!

Please send me your book related* Guest posts, Cover Reveals, etc to my Email for posting.

My email is klearboredom @yahoo.com

*Please refer to the types of books read by the reviewers as to what type of books are reviewed on this blog.

Thanks,
Kati

Monday, June 9, 2014

One Dirty Bowl by Christina Dymock

Want delicious desserts in a snap but don't want the mess?
One Dirty Bowl by Christina Dymock has all the answers.

Springville, UT - June 11 2014 - One Dirty Bowl: Fast Baking, Faster Cleanup is a cookbook with a twist. Another fabulous frolic into the world of food by author Christina Dymock, One Dirty Bowl was designed to appeal to time-strapped dessert lovers (and isn't that almost all of us?) One Dirty Bowl features over 70 delightful, time-saving recipes that can be created with just one bowl. Desserts such as: Chocolate Cake to the Third Power-a three layer/three flavor cake, Cheesecake Sundaes, Turtle Bites, Inside-Out Pumpkin Smore Cupcakes, and Peanut Butter Truffle Bars can be whipped up to perfection in just minutes. Yum!
 
 
Baking doesn't have to take all day or make a mess in the kitchen. With One Dirty Bowl: Fast Baking, Faster Cleanup, you'll have the recipes and easy-to-follow instructions to help you make show-stopping from-scratch desserts in no time. All you need is a little time and one bowl! And, since you'll only have one bowl to clean, you'll use these recipes over and over again.
 
About the Author:
Christina Dymock graduated from the University of Utah with a bachelor's degree in public relations. She has been published in Woman's World Magazine and in several Chicken Soup for the Soul books. She is also the author of 101 Things to Do with Popcorn, Young Chefs: Cooking Skills & Recipes for Kids, and The Hungry Family Slow Cooker Cookbook. She resides in central Utah with her husband and four children.You can follow their cooking adventures at: TheHungryFamilyatHome.com
About Cedar Fort Publishing and Media
Cedar Fort Publishing and Media is located in the shadow of Maple Mountain in Springville, Utah. Cedar Fort is committed to developing life-enhancing and inspiring ideas and products.

Thursday, June 5, 2014

Review: Bad Blood by John Sandford


Title: Bad Blood
Author: John Sandford
Series: Virgil Flowers (#4)
Publisher: Putnam Adult
Publication Date: 
 September 21, 2010
Reviewer: Ethan

Review: A small Minnesota town is shocked when local high school football star, Bobby Tripp, is arrested for the brutal murder of farmer Jacob Flood. Immediately, this opening scene, in which we read the details of Tripp killing Flood, strays from John Sandford's usual practice of hiding the identity of the killer. Knowing Tripp's identity, I was certain that this would be a story that was much different from any of the previous installments in this series.  Sure enough, Tripp is found the next day, dead in his jail cell from an apparent suicide. Upon further investigation, it is revealed that Tripp's death was involuntary which could mean only one thing. . . murder.

Enter Virgil Flowers. He probably better resembles an aging cowboy/rocker, but there is no denying his skill. Despite his unconventional appearance and behavior, he has become one of the best investigators working for the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension(BCA). He is called by the town's sheriff, Lee Coakely. Coakley is an attractive, recent divorcee with two sons. From their first encounter, there is palpable chemistry between her and Virgil. But there is no time for romantic excursions. It is soon revealed that the officer who was guarding Tripp's cell has also, apparently, committed suicide. As you can probably predict, his death is quickly determined to be a murder, as well.

As Virgil investigates, he comes across two possible directions at which to follow the case. The first involves the young Bobby Tripp. As a high school sports star, he was sure to get a large scholarship to continue playing ball at the college level. But an injury left him in his small town. Virgil's snooping reveals that Tripp may have been gay. Stuck in his small town and hiding the secret to his sexuality, it is possible that Jacob Flood threatened to reveal Tripp's secret, leading Tripp to kill him.

The other thread involves the dead officer's secretive church. Perhaps more reminiscent of a cult, the church is rumored to condone strange sex acts, including pairing underage children with older members. This thread reveals actions dating over 100 years into the towns history and possible connections to previous murders. With all of these issues comming to light, Virgil is thrust into some of the darkest crimes he has ever experienced.

This is kind of a change of pace for John Sandford's Virgil Flowers series. Yes, he continues to make Virgil one of the most entertaining and relatable characters in crime fiction, but he forces his lovable character into some of the darkest situations he's ever written about. Rape is never an easy topic, especially when it involves children, but Sandford's skills as a writer allow him to touch upon the subject with a delicate hand, while still advancing his fast paced mystery. This is the best Virgil Flowers novel to date, with a strong web of mystery that will keep you engrossed until the very last page.

Sunday, May 18, 2014

New book: Pawn by Aimee Carter

Lookie what I received on May 17! Pawn by Aimee Carter. I love all of the Aimee Carter books I've read so far! She's an amazing author. Although I've already read it. I am so happy to own it! This book was soo good I couldn't put it down till I finished it! Has anyone else read this book yet?

Friday, February 21, 2014

Don't Look Back by Jennifer L. Armentrout



Title: Don't Look Back

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Publisher: Hyperion
Publication date: 4/15/14
Stars: 5 stars

Summary: Samantha is a stranger in her own life. Until the night she disappeared with her best friend, Cassie, everyone said Sam had it all-popularity, wealth, and a dream boyfriend. 

Sam has resurfaced, but she has no recollection of who she was or what happened to her that night. As she tries to piece together her life from before, she realizes it's one she no longer wants any part of. The old Sam took "mean girl" to a whole new level, and it's clear she and Cassie were more like best enemies. Sam is pretty sure that losing her memories is like winning the lottery. She's getting a second chance at being a better daughter, sister, and friend, and she's falling hard for Carson Ortiz, a boy who has always looked out for her-even if the old Sam treated him like trash. 

But Cassie is still missing, and the facts about what happened to her that night isn't just buried deep inside of Sam's memory-someone else knows, someone who wants to make sure Sam stays quiet. All Sam wants is the truth, and if she can unlock her clouded memories of that fateful night, she can finally move on. But what if not remembering is the only thing keeping Sam alive?

Review: I defiantly like this book a lot. It's impossible to put down and it keeps you guessing until the very very end. Amazing book and I can absolutely not wait until I have the opportunity to read another book by Jennifer. You have GOT to pick this book up and read it. You will not regret it!

Monday, November 25, 2013

Review: Just Breathe by Jeanette Paul


Title: Just Breathe
Author: Jeanette Paul
Publisher: Random Romance
Stars: 5


Summary: Opposites attract in this funny, touching and deliciously romantic novel as hippie Dee meets millionaire businessman Ethan - and her calm world is turned upside down...

Dee Nichols is a free-spirited yoga teacher, albeit a broke one. But she's not interested in money or possessions or thinking too far into the future. After surviving a terrible car accident, she's just happy to be breathing.

Then Dee meets Ethan Roxburgh at a Christmas party. As the head of Roxburgh Holdings, and a regular in the social pages, he's the opposite of what Dee wants in her life. Until a job modelling yoga in a TV commercial turns Dee into an overnight celebrity…

Thrust into a whole new world of business and PR (as well as high-heels and plunging necklines) Dee is out of her comfort zone and suddenly Ethan is perfect – as a mentor. Or would be, if she wasn't so damn attracted to him. After all, he'd never look twice at a short, accident-prone yoga instructor with market-stall couture …

Then Ethan does look twice - and life gets sweet and sexy as hell.

Written by
Jaye Ford under her alter ego Janette Paul.


Review: This books pretty good. But I'm not a fan of Lucy she's kind of annoying, controlling and manipulative. Normally when a characters names Lucy I have no problem but I just don't like this one. And Val, Dee's mother reminds me of mine in so many ways. However Ethan and Dee are amazing! But I really love this book all together! It had hardship and love. It shows you that you can over come your hardships. I think it's kind of a hopeful book. I really do like it! :) Must read!

Sunday, November 17, 2013

Review: How to Enhance your life with astrology by Arthyr w. Chadbourne

Title: How to enhance your life with astrology
Author: Arthyr W. Chadbourne

Summary: To the untrained eye, it seems patently absurd that an astrology chart may be something more than a wheel with randomly placed symbols. But to the trained eye celestial configurations present obvious messages that are easily recognized. How to Enhance Your Life with Astrology can guide you to learn how these messages are conveyed and how you can interpret them. It has been said that "Chance favors the prepared mind" and when the planetary angels speak, those who listen are well prepared. As astrologers, we have truly learned to read destiny.

Review: Sadly I couldn't stand to read this book. It's kind of... Boring! I couldn't help but skip ahead then again and again. But the good news is I'm not super into astrology. How is that good news you may ask? Well simple, that means those of you who are super into it may just absolutely love this book! I don't suggest it to someone who is just getting into astrology. Because it may have the same effect on you as it did me. 

Popular Posts