Hope everyone has a wonderful new year!!

Tuesday, April 21, 2020

Review: Catching the Cowboy by Kennedy Fox

Title: Catching the Cowboy
Author: Kennedy Fox 
Publication date: April 21, 2020
Stars: 5

Summary: 

Settling down and starting a family is something Diesel has considered, regardless of his one-night stand reputation. However, he just might be single forever since who he wants is off-limits—his best friend’s little sister.

He’s been in love with her for years, but betraying his friendship could ruin everything.
Rowan Bishop is over men, especially after finding out her boyfriend cheated and left her heartbroken. After graduating from college, she’s back home and has to face the one guy who purposely gets under her skin—her older brother’s best friend.

She hates that she’s attracted to him, but she’s willing to fight for who she wants.

Spending time together is a bad idea, but neither can deny the chemistry sizzling between them. Late night talks turn into spontaneous adventures and just when Rowan’s willing to admit how she truly feels, Diesel’s past catches up with him and ruins their picture perfect romance.

One secret turns into another and before either can grasp their new reality, more truths unravel—threatening to expose their forbidden relationship.

Review:
I absolutely loved reading about River's kids. I honestly was a little bit nervous to read the next generation but these love stories are keeping me going right now with everything that is happening in the world. The book did remind me in minor ways of Keeping Him and I did have to mentally skip over anything that would ruin Hitching the Cowboy because I haven't read it yet. I went a little out of order and I really don't suggest it even though they are "stand alone books" they are in a series. I honestly really recommend reading this whole series you will find characters you absolutely love and absolutely despise. Plus, the whole series is worth a read. It's been my favorite series to read this year. I was a little confused on how "That Don't Impress Me Much" by Shania Twain and the other country songs listed in this book are considered old school. I'm 26 and I grew up listening to them, I'm literally older than those songs. I guess this is why reading the next generation is hard because it would have been her parents listening to it, not her grandparents. Alright, that love is blind reference means it's 2020. So it would have totally have been their generation. I am not a big fan of Riley in this book, I hope he isn't such a dick in Hitching The Cowboy or the book will be difficult for me to go back to read. It's the only book in the series I've missed so far. Such an adorable story, with the always predictable falling in love, something almost breaks them, then they get back together and get married and have a 2.5 kids and live happily ever after. I really suggest reading it and I can't wait until October (unless it gets delayed or published early) for Wrangling the Cowboy.




*Note: This is a full-length stand-alone novel in the Circle B Ranch series and a spin-off from the Bishop Brothers series. You don’t need to read any of the other books beforehand to enjoy this one!*

Grab Your Copy HERE:


Meet Kennedy Fox


Brooke Cumberland and Lyra Parish are a duo of romance authors who teamed up under the USA Today pseudonym, Kennedy Fox. They share a love of Hallmark movies & overpriced coffee. When they aren’t bonding over romantic comedies, they like to brainstorm new book ideas. One day, they decided to collaborate under a pseudonym and have some fun creating new characters that’ll make you blush and your heart melt. If you enjoy romance stories with sexy, tattooed alpha males and smart, quirky, independent women, then a Kennedy Fox book is for you! They’re looking forward to bringing you many more stories to fall in love with!

Keep up with all their social media platforms for updates & info!


Hosted By:

Thursday, March 26, 2020

Excerpt for Saving Suki

Title: Saving Suki
Series: Horse Mountain Shifters
Release Date: April 1, 2020
Genre: Paranormal Romance; Romantic Suspense; Contemporary Western;
Hashtag: #ParanormalRomance, #Western, #RomanticSuspense, #HEA,
Book Tagline: Pain Drove Him Away. Her Heart Couldn’t Forget. Tragedy Brought Him Back. Will Fate Bind Them Together?
Series Tagline: Even Alpha Males Can’t Fight Fate
 
Pre-order and save. Only $.99 (US Price) until the book drops on April 1st!
Pre-order/Buy Links:
 
Sales Blurb
An abusive childhood and an accident in his teens left stallion-shifter, Malcolm Patterson, with a distrust for his father and a lot of holes in his memory. When his dad passes away, Malcolm returns to Horse Mountain to fulfill his obligation to settle his old man’s affairs but finds the shifter community’s near hero-worship of the late doctor disquieting. He’s further shaken to meet a curvy beauty at the funeral who makes his heart gallop and his primal instincts take over. Suki Marks has been in love with handsome and noble Malcolm Patterson ever since he saved her from bullies who called her an abomination when she was ten. He was the first person to be straight with her about the reasons some people shunned her family and was quick to debunk those prejudices as the ignorant folktales and stupid superstitions they were. Even after Malcolm graduated high school and left town, she couldn’t forget him, but becoming Doctor Patterson’s live-in nurse in his last year of life was a coincidence. She never expected to be named in the wealthy physician’s will. Malcolm assumed he’d be disinherited, but even from the after-life, his father continues to turn the knife, using his will to set up an elaborate scheme to taint Malcolm's feelings for the woman who might be his fated mate. To make matters worse, a dangerous shifter-purist movement is brewing among a small segment of the Horse Mountain Clan, and they’re determined to prevent Suki from passing on her genes to a new generation. Will Malcolm be able to work through his past in time to secure his and Suki’s future? Warning: Saving Suki is a smoking hot romance with graphic, put-you-in-the-moment love scenes. If you're offended by sexual language, you might want to consider another book. The book can stand alone without reading the others in the series, but reading Horse Mountain Shifters 1-3, will add to the enjoyment of the experience.
Excerpt
(Mal confronts Suki about the Abundance of Shifter Pheromones emanating from her room.)
“Suki, I’m coming in.” The words to make him halt lingered on the tip of her tongue, but she didn’t make a sound as her door flung open and the tall, broad-shouldered man she’d been dreaming of since she was a kid came rushing through the entrance. “Just what the hell are you doing up here?” His eyes were wide and darkened by his expanded pupils while a rosy hue stained his cheeks. He stared at her, his chest rising and falling rapidly. Her lips parted and she shook her head. Unintelligible noises filled the air between them but none that expressed her indignation at his question. She swallowed back the lump in her throat. “Me? I haven’t done anything but rest on my bed.” He eyed her, his tongue absently brushing across his bottom lip as he moved closer, circling her like prey. “You sure?” He sucked air in through his nose before heading straight to her hamper and placing his fingers on the lid. Her jaw dropped and she screamed as she rushed forward to stop him, reaching out and smacking the top. As gravity and momentum closed the hamper, Mal snatched his hand back, and to Suki’s utter horror, her arousal-drenched underwear had been hooked by his thumb. She snatched her undies out of his hand before he had a chance to examine them more closely. “What in the hell do you think you’re doing?” He lifted his chin and looked down at her, a smirk playing on his lips as he shifted his weight and widened his stance, making his already considerable height and musculature take up more space. “Were you fantasizing?” The beating of her heart seemed to jump up into her throat as her cheeks burned. She shook her head adamantly. “As if? No way.” “Bullshit.” Your skin is flushed.” His perfectly straight teeth showed as he grinned. “And those panties—” He lifted his fingers to his nose and sniffed. “Did you touch yourself?” The fluttering in her stomach and her trembling legs made her indignity harder to sell, but she tried, pointing at her door. “Get out!” He shrugged, taking a step backward. “You sure? I won’t force you.” He touched his chest before waving his hand toward her and back at himself. “This thing between us—in the air we breathe, muddling our thoughts and taking control of our bodies—it’s primal, thousands of years of survival instinct pushing us to pass on our genes.” He clenched his jaw, creases forming on his forehead. “I can’t fight it, and I won’t try. You want me to leave? Fine, but if I walk out the door, I’ll go straight to my car, leave Horse Mountain, and you will never see me again.” Suki’s heart dropped and her stomach tensed, her chest heaving as she struggled with how to respond. His intense stare shook her to her core as if his eyes were demanding an answer. She glanced down at the floor. “Don’t go.”  
Other Books in the Horse Mountain Shifters Series:

Horse Mountain Heat
Real Cowboys Love Cats
Bridling Lucy
   
 
About Sierra
Sierra Brave is a multi-published author of smoking hot romance. Her love of erotic fiction started in her last year of high school when she read the sensual classic, Fanny Hill. She felt so naughty yet liberated with her copy tucked away in her book bag and hopes her work will have the same delicious effect on her readers.  
Follow Sierra
Want free Romance?
Sign-up for my newsletter. Never miss a new release, sale or freebie, and I’ll send you a copy of Fevered Dream for FREE! Click here to claim your free book.      

Tuesday, March 24, 2020

Q&A with Katey Taylor

Q&A WITH KATEY TAYOR, AUTHOR OF THE YA NOVEL NEON NIGHTS

Question: Tell us what Neon Nights is all about.
                                                            
Katey Taylor: Neon Nights is a raw and emotional story that follows seventeen-year-old main character Cait and the serious issues she has to tackle in front of her. Neon Nights is a spiral of events dealing with boys with bad intentions, drugs, and new drama.

Q: This is the second book in the series. How does Neon Nights continue the story of Cait that you began in your first book, Inebriated?

Taylor: Neon Nights picks up right where Cait left off in Inebriated but due to the life-altering incidences that took place in the previous book, Cait’s whole world is turned upside down. Readers will be able to dive right in and see the immediate new challenges she faces, and whether your rooting for her or screaming at her, you won’t be able to look away.

Q: You write about a lot of very real topics. Are these novels based on any true experiences?

Taylor: At first, I strictly denied my life had any relation to my books. Fiction is fiction. But it was getting hard to deny that was true to friends and family who had read the books. I grew up in a San Francisco Bay Area suburb and snuck away to San Francisco to party in my teen and young adult years. Like a lot of teens, I experienced or was around underage drinking, drugs and the aftermath that comes with that. Cait’s story is not my story but a lot of the emotion and experiences she goes through are similar to mine. I think Cait did take on my teenage persona maybe more than I’d like, but I also think I wrote her qualities I wish I had back then. Cait might not be able to see the bad or danger in people at first, but when she does she is willing to stand up for herself and for the ones she loves. I think her inner strength is one of her best traits.

Q: Music is an obvious theme in the books, and Adrien is a musician. Is he inspired by any real-life musicians?

Taylor: Oh boy. Adrien definitely morphed into his own real character, but I will admit when I first started to write him, I was inspired by a particular lead singer of an indie band called The 1975. His aesthetic mostly, and I’ve seen him play live many times and he exudes that sort of the slick, dark, wounded musician vibe that Adrien carries.

Q: Do you listen to any particular music while writing?

Taylor: I have to listen to music while I write, they both go hand and hand so naturally for me. When writing a scene, I usually pick a song that relates to what I’m writing, and I will play it on repeat for hours to help me visualize the setting or express a certain emotion. My music taste is quite eclectic. Indie rock is my go-to, but I love older bands like Fleetwood Mac or Van Morrison. I’m also a huge pop fan probably because I grew up listening to Britney Spears and N*sync. But when writing, I will listen to any song in any genre with deep emotions or lyrics that inspire me.

Q: Social media is such a massive part of teenagers lives these days. What message about social media did you want to portray to your readers?
Taylor: A minor plot point in Cait’s story in the books is she was admired and often criticized on social media. Yet all of those people had not a clue about the hardships she endured on a daily basis. Life isn’t always what it seems, and just because your seemingly pretty and popular doesn’t mean that life is easy or that you don’t make terrible decisions.

Q: Besides a great read, what else do you hope teens get from Neon Nights?

TaylorNot just teens, but parents of teens could read these books as an eye opener to what teenagers are capable of getting themselves into. You might think your kid – or you! – wouldn’t do things like this but sadly those are the people who end up blindsided by addiction issues, find themselves in a toxic relationship, or make the simple mistake as getting in the car with someone under the influence. These things sadly do happen every day. I hope by tackling some of the harder topics of being a teen with truth and honestly, I’ll help my readers think about their choices when in stickier situations, and think about doing what is best for themselves and the people they love.

KATEY TAYLOR is the author behind the emotionally wrenching young adult novel, Inebriated. Katey's passion for storytelling stemmed not long after she first learned to write with a pencil. Every story she writes is infused with a piece of her heart and her absolute muses of music and travel. She's a San Francisco Bay Area native living in a house that sits on a bayside lagoon with her husband and two cats.

For more information, visit www.kateytaylor.com, and connect with her on Instagram and Facebook.

Neon Nights will be available through all major booksellers and online via Amazon.

Sunday, March 8, 2020

Real life vs fiction

A few years ago a very good friend of mine was murdered. What came from that was a lot of ups and downs. Still a lot of nightmares but also a really great friendship with her older sister. My friends old sister lost her mother and sister that day in a horrible tragedy one that could have gone completely differently in so many ways but it didn't. I just wanted to share with you her writers page and her story. If you or anyone you know is a survivor of a homicide please read this or share it. Even if your not please do so. Thank you for reading. I appreciate your time.

Friday, January 24, 2020

Title: Country Hearts by Cindi Madsen


Title: Country Hearts
Author: Cindi Madsen
Publication date: 1/21/2020
Stars: 5+

Summary: She shouldn't get involved with the cowboy next door...

Laid off from her teaching job in the city, Jemma Monroe takes a job teaching in a tiny town and rents a house on the outskirts. A visitor soon shows up at her door—a horse. His owner, a handsome neighbor in boots and a cowboy hat, comes by to collect him.

When single dad Wyatt Langford meets Jemma, it’s the first time he feels interest in a woman since his wife left. But she’s his daughter’s new teacher, so they both know they should keep their distance.

Nonetheless, Wyatt keeps finding excuses to spend time with Jemma, and Wyatt’s daughter becomes more and more attached to her. With them, Jemma discovers the good things about country life, from starry skies to s’mores cooked over a fire. But she still misses her past life in the city. Is there any reason for them to dream of a future together?

Review: This may only be my third book of the year but it is most definitely my favorite so far. It is so heart-warming, you just want Jemma to find a good job and experience fun things in life but also find a GOOD man. I connected with her so much on misunderstanding signals from guys. I was just imagining Bailey Rae's style and honestly it was one of the most fun things in my mind. Then there is the small town cafe they go to with the weekly drinks where it is ALWAYS different I honestly just loved it. I have soooo much that I loved about this book, yes it includes that stubborn cowboy, I can't list them all for fear of ruining such a sweet story. Please check it out it is absolutely worth it.

Friday, January 3, 2020

Title: Falling for the Bad Boy by Kennedy Fox


Title: Falling for the Bad Boy
Author: Kennedy Fox
Publication date: 11/2/2017
Stars: 5

Summary: Never trust a man who answers the door wearing nothing more than a pair of low-cut jeans and a panty-melting smirk.
That should've been my first sign.

I write about guys like him for a living—sexy and charming, yet reluctant to get into a serious relationship. His body is the ultimate temptation, but his condescending personality makes him a classic bad boy.

And I want nothing to do with that.

Writing romance novels comes with its perks—traveling, meeting new people, creating characters from the voices in my head—but Ethan Rochester enters my life and rearranges my preconceived notions about writing what inspires you.

Meeting him was fate, but falling for him was inevitable.
And forgetting him will be impossible.

Review: I absolutely love when one of the leads are authors because sometimes there are tiny bits of another book in there which is fun. I loved another one where the lead was a bookstagrammer. I was totally able to relate to that. This book is amazing and full of heart. When you learn about why E has closed off his heart, it breaks yours. I was basically begging for them to get together their wit and fast tongue are perfect for each other. I love that they both have cats and the cats totally remind me of mine. The book flows so smoothly and I read Falling for the Cowboy so quickly, that I can't wait to read what else they come out with next! Thankfully all of the Bed Time Reads are stand alones so there is no particular order to read them in. I only have Falling for the Playboy left but I have many more Kennedy Fox books to go!

Popular Posts