Sunday, October 19, 2014

Review: A Farewell to Arms by Ernest Hemingway

Title: A Farewell to Arms
Author: Ernest Hemingway
Stars: 4 Stars


Summary: The best American novel to emerge from World War I, A Farewell to Arms is the unforgettable story of an American ambulance driver on the Italian front and his passion for a beautiful English nurse. Hemingway’s frank portrayal of the love between Lieutenant Henry and Catherine Barkley, caught in the inexorable sweep of war, glows with an intensity unrivaled in modern literature, while his description of the German attack on Caporetto—of lines of fired men marching in the rain, hungry, weary, and demoralized—is one of the greatest moments in literary history. A story of love and pain, of loyalty and desertion, A Farewell to Arms, written when he was thirty years old, represents a new romanticism for Hemingway.

Review: The beginning of the book was a little slow for me. But then I started swearing at Miss Van Campen for being such a mean old lady. It's been a while since I've sworn at a book. Some people just can't leave well enough alone. I like Catherine. Maybe I'm just biased on the name tho. :) The end of the book... Seriously just makes me want to cry. Where is the happy ending? Where's my hopeless romance? Why do you have to be so sad and depressing? OK sorry to many questions for a review. Haha. I do recommend this book. 4 Stars!

Monday, October 6, 2014

Review: The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas

Author: Alexandre Dumas
Introduction and notes: Luc Sante
Title: The Count of Monte Cristo
Publisher: Barnes and Noble classics
Pub date: 2004 (1844-1845)
Pages: 591
Stars: 4.5

Summary: Dashing young Edmond Dantès has everything. He is engaged to a beautiful woman, is about to become the captain of a ship, and is well liked by almost everyone. But his perfect life is shattered when he is framed by a jealous rival and thrown into a dark prison cell for 14 years.

Review: At first I didn't like the way they went between the characters. However, later in the book I was very happy that it was like that. I really liked this book! The beginning was a little difficult for me to get into but once I did you couldn't get me to put it down. Took me four days to read it so maybe a total of 20-30 hours. My mother picked on me for two reasons one it took me four days to read the book instead of one and the other reason was because I borrowed the book even though I normally just read the books I receive for review. The story line and the characters are amazing! In the start of the book you could really feel Edmond and mercédès love for each other. The book was filled with plenty of awe inspiring self discovery. This book is truly a classic and it makes me want to read more classics. I really loved this book and found almost no problems with it. Except for the fact of it felt like it was missing the fairy tale end with all the romance. But I'm a hopeless romantic so that just can't be helped. I would absolutely recommend this book to anyone. It's worth trying. Amazing!

Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Review: The Summer I found you by Jolene Perry

Title: The Summer I found you
Author: Jolene Perry
Publication Date: 2014
Publisher: Albert Whitman & Company
Pages: 256
Stars: 4.5 stars

Summary: Kate's dream boyfriend has just broken up with her and she's still reeling from her diagnosis of type 1 diabetes. 

Aidan planned on being a lifer in the army and went to Afghanistan straight out of high school. Now he's a disabled young veteran struggling to embrace his new life. 

When Kate and Aidan find each other neither one wants to get attached. But could they be right for each other after all?

Review: I really love this book. I feel like the story has two very good subjects that it is focused on. First wounded warriors, that's a huge part of this story. Also, a very large portion of way I loved this book. Adian is a young man who just lost someone who is very important to him and some one who has lost his arm.  Second diabetes, not many people understand this disease or how it affects people. I personally have multiple family members who suffer from diabetes. Main female character, I feel like I understand her well. I seem to be always drawn to characters who are strange. I don't know if that shows you my personality or just how I feel about myself. I feel like the author did a very good job with this book and all of her characters. I want to see more with these characters. I really like the cover, It's very pretty. 4.5 stars

Monday, September 1, 2014

Review: Relentless by Robin Parrish

Title: Relentless
Author: Robin Parrish
Series: dominion (#1)
Publisher: Bethany House
Publication date: July 1, 2006
Pages: 448
Stars: 4

Summary:
In the space of a breath, what he thought was his life…shattered. Grant Borrows has been Shifted- in the silence between heartbeats, his whole life fundamentally altered. There's another man in the world wearing his face and living his life. What's more, the man staring back from his mirror is a stranger. But the changes don't stop at skin-level. Inexplicably, he's able to affect objects around him by simply thinking about them. And as he soon learns, he's become the central figure in a vast web of intrigue that stretches from an underground global conspiracy to a prophecy dating back over seven thousand years. Enemies and allies find him at every turn, but one thing they learn all too soon is that you don't want to push Grant Borrows too far... Can destiny be undone? The players are ready. The game is in motion. And the pace is: Relentless. (The Dominion Trilogy Book 1)

Review:
I really enjoyed this book. It's not quiet like anything I've ever read before. As always the characters were amazing. I felt all of Grants pain and anger. I understood so much of how he was feeling. I feel like this is one of those books that should be made into a book. It had so much detail I felt like I was watching it rather then reading it. After I finished reading the book and writing my review I looked up other reviews. People either loved it or hated it. 4 Stars.

Saturday, August 23, 2014

Review: To Catch a Bad Guy by Marie Astor

Title: To Catch a Bad Guy
Author: Marie Astor
Series: Janet Maple (#1)
Goodreads: Marie Astor

Summary: Janet Maple's stellar career ended with a lay off and her boyfriend of five years told her that he wants to be just friends. When she lands a job at one of New York’s premier boutique investment firms, Janet begins to hope that her luck is finally turning for the better. Not only is she happy with her new paycheck, but things also seem to be looking up on the personal front, as the company’s handsome attorney expresses keen interest in Janet. However, her euphoria is short-lived, as Janet soon discovers alarming facts about her new employer’s business tactics. When her boss dismisses her suspicions as groundless, Janet finds herself confiding to a cute IT engineer, Dean Snider. The closer she gets to Dean, the more Janet is tempted to break her rule of not dating co-workers, but what she doesn’t realize is that everything she knows about Dean, including his occupation and even his name, is a lie.

Dennis Walker is a top-notch white collar crime investigator who will stop at nothing to put culprits away. When an opportunity for an undercover assignment at one of New York’s premier boutique broker dealers comes up, Dennis jumps at the chance, adopting a persona of geeky IT engineer, Dean Snider. While he may be an ace at his job, years of experience fail him when Dennis meets Janet Maple and finds himself torn between his professional obligations and his personal desires. Will he have to choose between his feelings and duty, or will he find a way to satisfy both?

Review: I do very much like this book. I've never really read to much into anything financial so at first all the terminology had me stuck. But i'm a quivk study and quickly caught on. The book's cute, funny and you really hope for the best for Janet. Dean is also a very lovable character. I hope there is another book after this one thought, because I really want to know what happens to Janet and Lisa. 4 Stars

Monday, June 16, 2014

Dear Authors/publisher's/etc

Hello lovelies!

Please send me your book related* Guest posts, Cover Reveals, etc to my Email for posting.

My email is klearboredom @yahoo.com

*Please refer to the types of books read by the reviewers as to what type of books are reviewed on this blog.

Thanks,
Kati

Monday, June 9, 2014

One Dirty Bowl by Christina Dymock

Want delicious desserts in a snap but don't want the mess?
One Dirty Bowl by Christina Dymock has all the answers.

Springville, UT - June 11 2014 - One Dirty Bowl: Fast Baking, Faster Cleanup is a cookbook with a twist. Another fabulous frolic into the world of food by author Christina Dymock, One Dirty Bowl was designed to appeal to time-strapped dessert lovers (and isn't that almost all of us?) One Dirty Bowl features over 70 delightful, time-saving recipes that can be created with just one bowl. Desserts such as: Chocolate Cake to the Third Power-a three layer/three flavor cake, Cheesecake Sundaes, Turtle Bites, Inside-Out Pumpkin Smore Cupcakes, and Peanut Butter Truffle Bars can be whipped up to perfection in just minutes. Yum!
 
 
Baking doesn't have to take all day or make a mess in the kitchen. With One Dirty Bowl: Fast Baking, Faster Cleanup, you'll have the recipes and easy-to-follow instructions to help you make show-stopping from-scratch desserts in no time. All you need is a little time and one bowl! And, since you'll only have one bowl to clean, you'll use these recipes over and over again.
 
About the Author:
Christina Dymock graduated from the University of Utah with a bachelor's degree in public relations. She has been published in Woman's World Magazine and in several Chicken Soup for the Soul books. She is also the author of 101 Things to Do with Popcorn, Young Chefs: Cooking Skills & Recipes for Kids, and The Hungry Family Slow Cooker Cookbook. She resides in central Utah with her husband and four children.You can follow their cooking adventures at: TheHungryFamilyatHome.com
About Cedar Fort Publishing and Media
Cedar Fort Publishing and Media is located in the shadow of Maple Mountain in Springville, Utah. Cedar Fort is committed to developing life-enhancing and inspiring ideas and products.

Popular Posts