Thursday, April 19, 2018

Review: Haunted by James Patterson and James O. Born


Title: Haunted
Author: James Patterson and James O. Born
Publisher: Hachette Book Group, Inc
Stars: 5 stars

Summary:
Detective Michael Bennett and his family are about to be haunted… by a father’s worst nightmare-the signs he should have seen and a son’s desperate cry for help. Reeling from a family crisis, the Bennetts escape New York for a much-needed vacation.
An idyllic country town in the Main Woods is haunted… by an epidemic emptying its streets and preying on its youth. Turns out the vacation brochures don’t tell the full story-the seemingly perfect community has a deadly vice. When local cops uncover a grisly crime scene buried deep in the woods, they consult the vacationing Bennett, who jumps at the chance to atone for his own sins. But far from the city streets he knows so well, no one will talk to the big-city detective, and the bodies keep piling up.
A young, hardscrabble, and forgotten girl is haunted… by a traumatic history. Homeless and destitute, she represents the closest thing Bennett has to a partner in his frantic hunt for the ghostlike perpetrator behind the violence. Will Bennett and his unlikely ally unmask the culprit before anyone else winds up haunted?

Review:
Haunted was a fast pace, page turner. I couldn’t put the book down! There was enough mystery that allowed you to guess what would happen, but not too much to make the book boring. Between the love story and suspense of a killer, the story was amazing. I would highly recommend this book to anyone.

Monday, April 16, 2018

What am I reading?

What am I reading?


Finished:
Whatever it takes by Virginia Kelly
Wotakoi: Love is Hard for Otaku by Fujita


Currently reading:


Up to bat:
Albert Einstein Speaking by R.J Gadney
Like to Die by David Housewrite
Abandoned by Allison Brennan
Hidden by Kelli Clare
A Wedding on Bluebird Way by Lori Wilde, Janet Dailey, Allyson Charles, Stacey Keith
Beyond Control by Kat Martin
Unbridled by Diana Palmer
Boomer1 by Daniel Torday
Lies by T.M. Logan 

Sunday, April 15, 2018

Review: Quantum and Woody! Volume 1: Kiss Kiss, Klang Klang

Title: Quantum and Woody! Volume 1: Kiss Kiss, Klang Klang
Publisher: Valiant Entertainment, LLC
Publication Date:  July 10, 2018
Where to buy: Amazon,
Stars: 3

Summary: THE WORLD’S WORST SUPERHERO TEAM RETURNS IN AN EXPLOSIVE NEW ONGOING SERIES! 

Sometimes…you embrace your destiny. And sometimes…you and your troublemaking adopted brother find yourselves trapped in a scientific lab explosion that grants you $@&%ing awesome superpowers. As a result of their accident, Eric and Woody Henderson – aka Quantum and Woody – must “klang” their wristbands together every 24 hours or both dissipate into nothingness. Which makes superhero-ing pretty awkward when you’re not on speaking terms at the moment. See, Eric has been keeping a pretty big secret: He knows who Woody’s birth father really is…and where he’s been hiding all these years.

With great power comes great sibling rivalry! This winter, you’ll believe two men and one goat can split a one bedroom apartment and still be a credible threat to evil and injustice everywhere when QUANTUM AND WOODY make headlines and take names!

Starting right here, deeply alarming and untrustworthy writer Daniel Kibblesmith (The Late Show with Stephen Colbert) and eye-popping artist Kano (Daredevil) give the Valiant Universe the adjective-worthy superheroes it deserves: QUANTUM AND WOODY!


Review:

Yes, Quantum does look a lot like Deadpool, why? Because the artist is the same one who drew Deadpool! Yes, that was my main draw to this book. What can I say. I am full time nerd, go me! I cannot deny it. :) It was a little difficult to read on my phone but I still enjoyed it more the artistry over the actual story line. I can understand how the story line needs to jump around to give us background. I just didn't like how it was done. Some of the background didn't make much sense. Some of it was enjoyable. I would absolutely give this more chances. The characters were good I already have a favorite or two. Yes, my star level is low but I am still open to looking into this comic a little more.
-Kati

Saturday, April 14, 2018

Guest Post with: Sam B Miller II

The Imagination of the Reader
How much should an author leave to the imagination of the reader?
Some readers want detail such as 'The rectangular dining room was lit by a small chandelier centered in
a high ceiling over a long table covered with a stained tablecloth. The four high-backed, cushioned chairs
were mismatched and more suitable for a casual kitchen. Sunlight from eastern facing windows was
muted by faded gold-colored drapes.' Other readers like little detail. They fill in the missing descriptions
with their mind such as 'The dining room was crowded with a table and four chairs.’
Of course there is an in-between but which approach is favored?
My stories have tried both ways of writing scene details. In the 3-book science fiction series, ‘The Origin
of F.O.R.C.E.’, I provided detail of the characters. Height, weight, hair color, eyes, type of glasses, cleanshaven, clothing and disposition were all described. I controlled how the reader visualized my characters
and even had characters drawn by professional artists based upon those descriptions. Many people said
the descriptions brought the characters to life. Others said the detail bogged down the story. Here are
the links to ‘The Origin of F.O.R.C.E.’ series. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B010T04A2O/
https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/44339895-sam-b-miller-ii
My fourth story, ‘Smith’, is a paranormal/supernatural tale written in a completely different way. The
reader knows who is male, female or inhuman, but 
The Imagination of the Reader

How much should an author leave to the imagination of the reader?
Some readers want detail such as 'The rectangular dining room was lit by a small chandelier centered in a high ceiling over a long table covered with a stained tablecloth. The four high-backed, cushioned chairs were mismatched and more suitable for a casual kitchen. Sunlight from eastern facing windows was muted by faded gold-colored drapes.' Other readers like little detail. They fill in the missing descriptions with their mind such as 'The dining room was crowded with a table and four chairs.’
Of course there is an in-between but which approach is favored?
My stories have tried both ways of writing scene details. In the 3-book science fiction series, ‘The Origin of F.O.R.C.E.’, I provided detail of the characters. Height, weight, hair color, eyes, type of glasses, clean-shaven, clothing and disposition were all described. I controlled how the reader visualized my characters and even had characters drawn by professional artists based upon those descriptions. Many people said the descriptions brought the characters to life. Others said the detail bogged down the story. Here are the links to ‘The Origin of F.O.R.C.E.’ series. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B010T04A2O/



























My fourth story, ‘Smith’, is a paranormal/supernatural tale written in a completely different way. The reader knows who is male, female or inhuman, but the character’s appearance is completely up to the reader. Ethnicity, hair-color, height and other identifiers are left to the reader’s imagination. Descriptions of buildings, rooms, army bases, hospital rooms, and hidden bunkers are minimal as well, leaving the readers to picture scenes as they wish to interpret them. I suppose I would name the technique ‘World-building in the reader’s mind’.
To my surprise, readers have discussed certain scenes in my book in ways I never thought possible.
Here are the links to Smith.
The new writing style resulted in a crisp read while at the same time reducing the word count to the point the story became a Novella rather than a Novel. I would appreciate your opinion. Which writing style do you prefer? I am in the process of writing my next novel and am anxious to know which writing style is preferred.
      Sam B Miller II, Author https://www.amazon.com/author/sambmilleriithe character’s appearance is completely up to the
reader. Ethnicity, hair-color, height and other identifiers are left to the reader’s imagination.
Descriptions of buildings, rooms, army bases, hospital rooms, and hidden bunkers are minimal as well,
leaving the readers to picture scenes as they wish to interpret them. I suppose I would name the
technique ‘World-building in the reader’s mind’.
To my surprise, readers have discussed certain scenes in my book in ways I never thought possible.
Here are the links to Smith.
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B078R95SYJ/
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/37832924-smith
The new writing style resulted in a crisp read while at the same time reducing the word count to the
point the story became a Novella rather than a Novel. I would appreciate your opinion. Which writing
style do you prefer? I am in the process of writing my next novel and am anxious to know which writing
style is preferred.
Sam B Miller II, Author
https://www.amazon.com/author/sambmillerii

Thursday, April 12, 2018

Review: The MacKade Brothers: Devin & Shane by Nora Roberts


The MacKade Brothers: Devin & Shane
By: Nora Roberts
Published by: Silhouette Books
Sold at: Barns and noble and Amazon
5 stars

Summary:
The Heart of Devin MacKade:
                Devin MacKade knew it was his destiny to serve and protect the small town of Antietam, Maryland. And he always suspected his future should have little Cassie Connor in it. After Cassie married the wrong man, Devin tried to convince himself there would be other women, other loves. Now, after Cassie’s divorce, Devin can finally follow his heart. But can Cassie follow hers?
The Fall of Shane MacKade:
                Shane MacKade loved women. He loved the look of them, the smell of them, the taste of them – everything about them. So the last thing he expected was to become a one-woman man. And even more surprising was that it was the PH.D. –toting academic Rebecca McKnight that had him heading for a fall. Are Shane’s days as bachelor over? It’s a possibility…

Review:
Both stories in this one novel was truly a work of art. Nora Roberts, put such a love story on the table with the work of mystery to it. The first story, the way Devin never gives up his love and just moves on was extremely romantic. This romantic novel of true love, tears, sorrow, and fights, will have you on the edge of your chair. This story will keep you telling the characters what you want them to do. The second story is not only funny but a epic love story as well. Between Shane’s smart mouth and attitude and a woman that makes him miss a beat. Is well worth the read, this story will have you laughing along with crying. But not only does Roberts put modern day love story together, she has a way of intertwining the Civil War love stories as well. The way she makes the characters feel the past and makes the reader feel the past makes these stories a must read.
-Victoria

Wednesday, April 11, 2018

Cover Reveal: Tulsa By S.L. Scott


Title: TULSA
Author: S.L. Scott
Genre: Standalone Contemporary Romance
Release Date: May 3, 2018
Cover Design: RBA Designs
SYNOPSIS
From New York Times Bestselling Author, S.L. Scott, comes a hot new rock star romance that will sweep you off your feet and leave you with a smile.
The rumors are true. At least where I’m concerned.
Drummers hit it harder and do it better.
Women love me and I love them. But I like to think of myself as a sensitive soul trapped in a lady-killer’s body. Not so surprisingly, I’ve been called cocky a time or two. What can I say? We can’t all be boy scouts.
Nikki Faris has thrown off my rhythm. With her red lips, smart aleck mouth, short skirts, long legs, and blue-sky eyes, the beautiful lead singer has become a complete distraction on this tour.
She loves to give me a hard time when all I want to do is give her the pleasure of my hard—time right back.
Tulsa Crow can save his pick up lines, great eight-pack abs, and cute dimples to use on someone else. My band earned their spot on The Resistance’s tour just like The Crow Brothers. I’m not going to blow it getting sidetracked by a cocky rock star that wants to sleep his way through the states. I’ve been called a name or two, but easy isn’t one of them.
   
ABOUT S.L. SCOTT
Living in the capital of Texas with her family, Scott loves traveling and avocados, beaches, and cooking with her kids. She's obsessed with epic romances and loves a good plot twist. Her favorite color is blue, but she likens it more toward the sky than the emotion. Her home is filled with the welcoming symbol of the pineapple and finds surfing a challenge though she likes to think she's a pro.
AUTHOR LINKS

Tuesday, April 10, 2018

Review: Believe Me by JP Delaney

Title: Believe Me
Author: JP Delaney
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Publication Date: July 24, 2018
Where to buy: Amazon
Stars: 3 stars

Summary: In this twisty psychological thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of The Girl Before, an actress plays both sides of a murder investigation.
 
A struggling actor, a Brit in America without a green card, Claire needs work and money to survive. Then she gets both. But nothing like she expected.
 
Claire agrees to become a decoy for a firm of divorce lawyers. Hired to entrap straying husbands, she must catch them on tape with their seductive propositions.
 
The rules? Never hit on the mark directly. Make it clear you’re available, but he has to proposition you, not the other way around. The firm is after evidence, not coercion. The innocent have nothing to hide.
 
Then the game changes.
 
When the wife of one of Claire’s targets is violently murdered, the cops are sure the husband is to blame. Desperate to catch him before he kills again, they enlist Claire to lure him into a confession.
 
Claire can do this. She’s brilliant at assuming a voice and an identity. For a woman who’s mastered the art of manipulation, how difficult could it be to tempt a killer into a trap?
 
But who is the decoy . . . and who is the prey?

Review:

I am extremely torn on how to rate this book honestly. It wasn't very good until about half way through and the best part of the book was the end. It wasn't particularly poorly written it just seemed to drag on and wasn't exactly one of those books that kept you at night because you couldn't stop reading. In some parts it didn't seem detailed enough where maybe it should have been. I really wanted to love this book more. 
-Kati

Popular Posts