Friday, June 22, 2018

Review: Darkest Night by Megan Erickson

Title: Darkest Night
Author: Megan Erickson
Publisher: Forever
Series: Wired & Dangerous (Book 2)
Publication Date: July 31, 2018
Pages: 320 pages
Where to buy: Amazon
Stars: 3

Summary: USA Today bestselling author Megan Erickson turns up the heat in her sexy and thrilling Wired & Dangerous romantic suspense series.

Bodyguard Jock Bosh has one job: keep Fiona Madden safe. Safe from the men who've been hunting her. Safe from the bastard responsible for ruining her life. And with the attraction sizzling white-hot between them, that means keeping Fiona safe from him too.

Fiona has spent the past decade on the run. Her survival is the single greatest weapon she's had against the men out to destroy her. Until Jock. Now, with him by her side, she finally has a chance to bring them down. But when her enemies make their next move and Jock puts himself in the line of fire, Fiona realizes that there's more at stake than just her life-she's also risking her heart.

Review:

The book was a little hard to get into, as a person who has been through a very slightly similar situation to Fiona I think that was why I was able to get into the book. Jock was kind of a non dimensional character but in some aspects I also understand where he came from. Being hurt having those you love hurt makes you not want to have someone who can be hurt. But beyond that he didn’t have much shape to him. Their relationship came almost out of nowhere. I read this book really quickly. Although a lot of this book gets to be extremely unrealistic. I did enjoy bits and pieces of it. 

Tuesday, June 19, 2018

Review: Low Chicago by George R.R. Martin

Title: Low Chicago
Author: George R.R. Martin 
Publisher: Tor Books
Publication Date: June 12, 2018
Pages: 432 pages
Series: Wild Cards (Book 17)
Where to buy: Amazon
Stars: 

Summary: In Low Chicago, a gang of criminals scattered throughout the past threaten the stability of the world in George R. R. Martin's latest Wild Cards adventure.


The stakes were already high enough at Giovanni Galante’s poker table that night in Chicago. Poker. Dealer’s choice. Seven players. A million-dollar cash buy-in.
But after a superpowered mishap, the most high-profile criminals in the city are scattered throughout the past and their schemes across time threaten the stability of the world.
Perfect for current fans and new readers alike, Low Chicago is an all-new time travel adventure that highlights the criminal underworld of 1920s Chicago, featuring a fresh cast of characters from the Wild Cards universe.
Edited by #1 New York Times bestselling author George R. R. Martin, Low Chicago features the writing talents of Saladin Ahmed (author of the bestselling comic Black Bolt), Paul Cornell (screenwriter, Doctor Who), Marko Kloos (author of the bestselling Frontlines series), John Jos. Miller, Mary Anne Mohanraj (Bodies in Motion, The Stars Change), Hugo, Nebula, World Fantasy and Theodore Sturgeon Award finalist Christopher Rowe, Kevin Andrew Murphy, and Melinda M. Snodgrass (screenwriter, Star Trek).
“Martin has assembled an impressive array of writers. . . . Progressing through the decades, Wild Cards keeps its momentum.”―Locus
Now in development for TV: Rights to develop Wild Cards have been acquired by Universal Cable Productions, the team behind The Magicians and Mr. Robot, with the co-editor of Wild Cards, Melinda 

Review:

I am a lover of Game of Thrones so when I saw George R.R. Martins name come up I jumped at the opportunity. I had no idea this series had been going on for this many years. I feel my biggest downfall will be that I don't understand cards so I may have an issue understanding this book a little bit. But so far from what I've read just as an introduction of the many characters and their background to Nighthawk they are very interesting and complex. I really do hope that card games to not mix into what happens in this book or I will be questioning my boyfriend at every turn as my knowledge of card games is limited to Kings Corner, solitaire and go-fish and the like. It is very interesting to have a world based off of a society names after jokers, queens and such. The crazy characters are kind of cool. Some portions of of the first authors story doesn't make much since. Some parts remind me of Austin Powers. I hope these stories tie together because it kind of just drops off after the first story portion. The second one starts very slow and was more difficult for me to get into. Once it started explaining more I got into it. However, but had slow starts and then built up just before going into the next story. I feel like for the second one there was something I had read that actually given some information away about a character so that was slightly unfortunate for me. I want to like this book this book so much. But it was honestly so hard for me to read. I think I will love it as a show as much as I loved Games of Thrones as a show. At this time I suggest anyone who loved reading Game of Thrones to read this series and I will have to come back to this book at another time.

Friday, June 15, 2018

Review: Mae by Gene Ha

Title: Mae Vol. 1
Author: Gene Ha
Series: Mae
Publisher: Lion Forge
Publication Date: July 3, 2018
Pages: 208 pages
Where to buy: Amazon
Stars: 3

Summary: Mae's beloved older sister, Abbie, has been missing for years. Mae has her theories about where Abbie might be. But nowhere in her wildest imagination do those theories encompass a fantasy world full of terrifying monsters, power-hungry nobles, and nefarious scientists. That is, until Abbie suddenly reappears in Mae's world. And not alone.

Review: 

I love the drawing, it reminds me a bit of Life is Strange, well at the beginning anyways. I absolutely love the nerdy references. Of course who doesn't love nerdy references when you are a nerd though. What kills me is the fact that this is based in Indiana and I want to go buy this and show my cousin and his friend in Indiana because they hate being in Indiana and living there. This is great I really want to read the next one to see what happens next just because of the way it left off I was a little frazzled. It went into a bit of a hey here's the back story here's the this and yada yada. But it didn't get back to the story itself. I am happy that Gene did decide to go with Mae as the focus instead of having her sister as the main character because I very much enjoy Mae. She really focuses with her head and doesn't just go and gets herself stuck between a rock and a hard place.

Wednesday, June 13, 2018

Giveaway: Widows by Lynda La Plante

The Giveaway is in the United States only. It goes from 6/13-7/13.
Please share on twitter along with following us at @JaggedReviews on Twitter.
Please share your opinion with us on how you feel about how we are doing with the blog as we have been on a brief leave. How you are feeling about the books we are reviewing along with what books you'd like to see from us along with some authors. 
Please also share this giveaway on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram!
You can add us on Facebook or Follow us.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, June 12, 2018

Review: Note to Self by Andrew Milner

Title: Note to Self
Author: Andrew Milner
Publisher: Andrew Milner Books
Publication Date: March 4, 2018
Pages: 258 pages
Where to buy: Amazon
Stars: 3

Summary: Emily is rapidly approaching fifty and thinks her life is just plain sailing. 

When her husband leaves her for a twenty five year old and her dad dies, it leaves her facing an uncertain and lonely future. She has two friends, Sally who is a gold digger yet hopeless in love and the pretty but dippy Dawn a police officer, who each have their own issues for Emily to deal with. On top of that her mum who is easily confused, and refers to cappuccino as Al Pacino, needs her full attention. 

Just when things start to hit rock bottom she meets an Italian stallion who turns her head so far she cricks her neck. In actual fact he’s called Kevin and has probably never been to Italy, but with lessons learnt she decides that maybe the devil that she already knows isn’t so bad after all.

Review:

When I read the summary for the book I was kind of excited about it. Although the book doesn't particularly hit my age demographic I thought in some ways I could connect. Before I meet my current boyfriend I was with a serial cheater. This book was a bit difficult to go through. It was a real slow start. I tried to get into the characters mindset especially as I had been in her shoes in some aspects. It was a little difficult honestly. She was very negative. Although her "self notes" were cute. She seemed very self destructive. Rather than she was trying to build herself up. She didn't seem to have many supportive people around her. Her relationship with her father was the only supportive relationship and she lost it. Her focuses were not seeming to be in the right place. She did marry a real a**hole. That is one thing I can say for sure. Personally for this book I had to go to another book so I did not get behind on my reviews. It is not because this book is unreadable. It is because this book is very slow moving. I don't know if it is the age demographic or just the pace of this book. Maybe it is because this character has a really poor support system around her a very little love for herself but I found it, it relate-able in the fact of the cheating lovers (which were in the past) and that was about the extent. Yes, I have family I have to take care of but. I couldn't finish this book maybe at another point in life I will give it another shot but right now... I just don't think it is going to happen. If you find that the summary jumps out at you please give it a shot. Maybe it is for you, unfortunately it is not for me at this time. 

Popular Posts