Thank you for visiting Jagged Edge Reviews. We have a lot of exciting reviews, guest posts, cover reveals and book blitz coming up!

Sunday, September 23, 2018

Excerpt: Sweetbriars: Leaving the City by Hollie Anne Marsh

Excerpt: 
" As the family drove towards the house, wooden fences lined both sides of the driveway, framing fields of long grass. The previous owners had been living overseas and had sold their horses. Cate spotted stables on the left. They were wooden and shaped like an L, facing a garden patch full of weeds. On the right-hand side, set further back from the drive, was a two-storey soft grey stone house whose large rectangular windows were adorned with wooden shutters painted a faded green. There was a large red front door with ivy growing ornately around it. Beside the white, pebbled path was a freshly-mowed lawn like thick green carpet. Her father, stopped the car, and Alex, her older brother, jumped straight out, eyeing the stables. “Cate, shall we take a look?” Alex asked, his eyes wide with excitement, as she slammed her car door shut. Cate readily agreed, and they looked at their parents, Sarah and David, for consent. T “Well, we are fifteen minutes early to meet the estate agent,” said Dad, looking at his watch and then down the driveway. “I think it should be OK... the estate agent said we could look around if we got here first,” added their mother, Sarah. “But please stay out of trouble and don’t open anything that’s closed – or go where you shouldn’t go! We’ll meet you at the house when you’re finished.”  

Purchase on Amazon

Author bio:

Hollie is an Australian author who lives in Barcelona, Spain with her partner, baby boy, and Oldenburg mare, Frieda. After having a professional career, including creating the equestrian online shop Equiporium (since sold), working for many large multinational companies, and having a baby, Hollie reconnected with her passion of writing and finished the manuscript she wrote many years ago.

Hollie has been riding since she was a little girl, enjoying activities such as Pony Club, showjumping, eventing, and trail-riding in the great Australian bush. Hollie lived in England for almost ten years where she had two horses and trained them for dressage. 

The Sweetbriars series is inspired by all the special moments Hollie spent with horses... good, funny, and challenging moments!

In creating the new Sweetbriars series, Hollie hopes that readers will not only find the books fun to read, but they will also inspire readers to learn more about horses.  
 

Saturday, September 22, 2018

Blitz with giveaway: Daddy's Demands: A Dirty Daddy Dom Anthology


Daddy’s Demands: A Dirty Daddy Dom Anthology
Publication date: September 18th 2018
Genres: Adult, Romance
These daddies don’t ask for obedience. They demand it.
Daddy’s Demands is a collection of decadently dirty daddy dom romances from some of the hottest authors in the genre. This deliciously naughty box set includes twenty-five brand-new, stand-alone novellas featuring steaming hot, irresistibly sexy adventures with the baddest daddies imaginable. Good girls be warned: your obedience will be demanded on September 18th.
Featured authors: Madison Faye, Renee Rose, Loki Renard, Maggie Ryan, Zoe Blake, Alta Hensley, Lee Savino, J.L. Beck, Jane Henry, Isabella Laase, Kelly Dawson, Sara Fields, Kara Kelley, Measha Stone, Amelia Smarts, Mary Wehr, Maddie Taylor, Meredith O’Reilly, Morganna Williams, Katherine Deane, Alexis Alvarez, Shelly Douglas, Sassa Daniels, Marlee Wray, and Rory Reynolds
Publisher’s Note: The stories featured in this collection all contain hot, dirty sex, sometimes involving ménage or reverse harem themes. Some include spankings, intense and humiliating punishments, and strong D/s themes. If such material offends you, please don’t buy this box set.

XBTBanner1

Thursday, September 20, 2018

Blitz with giveaway: Twisted Lies 4 by Sedona Venez


Twisted Lies 4
Sedona Venez
(Dirty Secrets, #4)
Publication date: September 19th 2018
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
From USA Today Bestselling Author Sedona Venez comes an edge-of-your-seat captivating, heart-wrenching, romantic suspense.
If you’re a fan of love/hate relationships, then read Twisted Lies 4. Or, just read it anyway.
A beautiful, captivating, angst-filled story with lessons about the fine line between love and hate—and two beautifully broken characters who will stick with you long after you finish this series.
For Core and Sin… there’s a thin line between love and hate—and nothing is what it seems.
Core’s a billionaire bad boy—living in a dangerous world—with an empire filled with dirty secrets, twisted lies, and scorching lust.
He’s a corporate god, one that sassy, curvy Sin hasn’t been able to avoid… or resist. But now the truth has come to light, and all secrets have been unveiled.
Lives are destroyed, and old wounds resurface.
It changes everything.
Core and Sin are teetering on losing the love of a lifetime.
A decision must be made… but Core has one last chance to make Sin his—or ruin what they have—permanently.
Sin is the only one who can heal Core’s broken heart—but she no longer knows if she wants it.
Can Sin trust Core?
Or will she walk away and abandon their future… forever?
Twisted Lies 4 is the last book in the suspenseful and sexy contemporary romance Dirty Secrets Series by author Sedona Venez. A steamy romp of twists and shocking turns, readers will fall in love one last time with the ending of the popular and highly anticipated Twisted Lies serial.
EXCERPT:
He rasped, “You going somewhere, Sin?”
There was no smile. When he crossed his muscular arms, my eyes traveled up his tall, well-built body that was pure rippling muscle. Hardened abs trailed downward to the waist of his black designer-looking jeans.
Damn, no man should look this fucking good all the time.
And why the hell wasn’t he wearing a damn shirt? His body, from chest to wrist, was a beautiful composition of Japanese tattoos and other beast-themed ink.
“Yep,” I replied. “I’ve got shit to do.”
He arched a brow. “Like?”
“Like it’s none of your business,” I replied while slowly plodding toward him, stepping into his massive kitchen. We stood face-to-face as I leaned my hip against the granite kitchen counter.
He scowled. “That’s where you’re wrong. Everything about you is my business.” He was studying me too closely, his expression brooding.


Author Bio:
Sedona Venez is a romance author with a dirty mind. She lives in New York City with her hot ex-military hubby--hooah--and their fur baby. She loves writing sizzling, sexy intricate stories about strong but broken characters who push limits, overcome their fears, and risk it all for love.
You can chat with her on Facebook (www.facebook.com/SedonaVenez), Twitter (@SedonaVenez), and her kick-ass romance website, (www.sedonavenez.com).
If you're interested in getting your hands on an advanced release copy of her upcoming books, sneak peek teasers, you can join her newsletter list (http://eepurl.com/2ixqj) and get those details delivered right to your inbox.

XBTBanner1

Monday, September 17, 2018

Blitz with giveaway: Unexpected Hostage by Layla Stone


Unexpected Hostage
Layla Stone
(Unexpected, #1)
Publication date: September 9th 2018
Genres: Adult, Romance, Science Fiction
Everyone says he’s dangerous.
Everyone is wrong.
My new cabin-mate is a telepath and the whole ship’s scared of him. I was too, for about three seconds. He’s quiet, but once I get him talking he’s the most fascinating man I’ve ever known. He shouldn’t be in that cage. He didn’t do anything wrong. But good thing he is, because I would love to snuggle down for a long night with a body like his.
Everyone thinks they’re safe.
Everyone is wrong.
My race is known for being peaceful, and I was too…until I was electrocuted, kidnapped, sold, and then put in a cage. I’ll get out of here soon, but while I plot my escape, I’ll enjoy my cabin-mate’s attention. She thinks she has figured me out. She’s not even close.
The ship is being attacked, a perfect diversion. There is only one problem…I want to take my cabin-mate with me.
Note to readers: This is a full length Sci-fi Romance Novel with action, adventure, adult humor and a steamy romance. Mature readers only.


Author Bio:
Layla Stone is an unapologetic romance junkie. As a self proclaimed Modern-Day Casanova of fictional men, she spins stories to create unique lovers with the plethora of races she's dreamed up.
Southern California is where she lives with her geeky husband and two rambunctious children.

XBTBanner1

Thursday, September 13, 2018

Review: Sadie by Courtney Summers

Title: Sadie
Author: Courtney Summers
Publisher: Wednesday Books
Publication Date: September 4, 2018
Pages: 320 pages
Where to buy: Amazon
Stars: 

Summary: A gripping novel about the depth of a sister's love; poised to be the next book you won't be able to stop talking about.


A missing girl on a journey of revenge and a Serial―like podcast following the clues she's left behind.
Sadie hasn't had an easy life. Growing up on her own, she's been raising her sister Mattie in an isolated small town, trying her best to provide a normal life and keep their heads above water.
But when Mattie is found dead, Sadie's entire world crumbles. After a somewhat botched police investigation, Sadie is determined to bring her sister's killer to justice and hits the road following a few meager clues to find him.
When West McCray―a radio personality working on a segment about small, forgotten towns in America―overhears Sadie's story at a local gas station, he becomes obsessed with finding the missing girl. He starts his own podcast as he tracks Sadie's journey, trying to figure out what happened, hoping to find her before it's too late.
Courtney Summers has written the breakout book of her career. Sadie is propulsive and harrowing and will keep you riveted until the last page.

Review:

Sadie was an interesting read to say the least. The start of the book was very slow, I personally had a hard time getting into it. But once the book reached a point that caught my attention I didn’t want to put it down. I did enjoy reading Sadie’s side of everything more, I felt like her side of everything was a bit more exciting. The way the author told the story with the podcast was intriguing, it was a little harder to get into. When I got to the ending of the book, I was very upset with how it ended. I felt like the author left a cliff hanger. I actually went back and reread Sadie’s side to make sure I didn’t miss something. I was frustrated with the book, from the slow beginning to the cliff hanging ending.  I think the book would be a good read for someone who likes the constant change of characters and that mystery feel about it. I personally am not the biggest fan of mysteries. I think others would highly enjoy the read more than I did myself. 
-Victoria

Blitz with giveaway: Your Echo by Katia Rose


Your Echo
Katia Rose
(Sherbrooke Station, #2)
Publication date: September 12th 2018
Genres: Adult, Comedy, Contemporary, Romance
How do you teach a rock star how to meditate?
The number one question on Stéphanie’s mind sounds like the start of a bad joke, and life would be a whole lot easier if she actually knew the punch line.
Her meditation coach job description said nothing about private lessons for the most infamous lead singer in Montreal, but somehow Stéphanie still finds herself sitting cross-legged on a yoga mat, right next to a pierced and tattooed music legend who’d rather be anywhere else.
Meditation classes are Ace’s final chance to convince his record label that the last bender he went on really was his last. The demons that have sent him to the bottom of countless bottles might not give a damn about ‘soothing rhythmic chanting,’ but it’s either this or game over for his career.
He’s not what she wants. She’s not what he’s looking for. Yet somewhere amidst all the incense fumes, the lines between student and teacher get blurred.
Even as their deep breathing exercises become nights filled with panting and gasps, Stéphanie can’t ignore the darkness that never quite leaves Ace’s eyes. It’s a darkness she knows far too well, and if she’s not careful, the cost of helping Ace find his way might just be losing herself.
Your Echo is part of the Sherbrooke Station Quartet, a series of steamy rock star standalones from author Katia Rose.
SNEAK PEEK:
And that’s how I end up singing ‘I’m On Fire’ in a Montreal KTV bar, stone cold sober, while people whip out their smart phones and I try not to think about all the places this video is going to end up. I just stare at Stéphanie from the raised platform that serves as a stage, watching her watch me as the rest of the crowd cheers. At first I’m only fucking around, adding an extra rasp to the words and playing up the sexuality in the lyrics to the point that it’s funny, but something changes the further I get into the song. The slow build of the synth—the tension that rises and rises but never quite breaks—catches up with me, and by the time I get to the long, wavering howls at the end, I can see Stéphanie’s chest heaving even harder than mine.


Author Bio:
Katia Rose is not much of a Pina Colada person, but she does like getting caught in the rain. She prefers her romance served steamy with a side of smart, and is a sucker for quirky characters. A habit of jetting off to distant countries means she’s rarely in one place for very long, but she calls the frigid northland that is Canada home.

XBTBanner1

Monday, September 10, 2018

Blitz: Scandalous by Sybil Bartel


Scandalous
Sybil Bartel
(Alpha Bodyguard #1)
Publication date: September 10th 2018
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Bodyguard.
Babysitter.
Chauffeur.
Not what the hell I thought I’d be doing with my life.
Especially not for a spoiled Hollywood actress on location in Miami Beach. But triple pay and carrying a gun had its advantages. I’d shove away paparazzi and screaming fans for a lot less. The Marines trained me to be Force Recon—intimidation and crowd control was child’s play compared to four tours. This assignment should’ve been easy money.
But the doe-eyed starlet with the perfect ass dragged me down her rabbit hole. Living for the spotlight, she leaked the perfect scandal. I warned her making headlines wasn’t in my job description, but she kept smiling for the cameras.
Now she was going to find out just how scandalous a bodyguard could be.
*SCANDALOUS is a sexy standalone book in the new Alpha Bodyguard Series!
The Alpha Bodyguard Series
SCANDALOUS – Tank’s story
MERCILESS – Collins’s story
RECKLESS – Tyler’s story
RUTHLESS – Sawyer’s story
EXCERPT:
“Do you like me?”
A bite halfway to my mouth, I froze for a fraction of a second. Then I chewed slowly and kept my eyes off her, because it was all part of the game. “You don’t strike me as the insecure type.” I took another bite, not knowing if I should be disappointed in her lack of confidence, or watching her for whatever game she was trying to play me with.
“This isn’t about insecurity,” she countered.
Bullshit. She was wondering why I’d said what I’d said. Horny as fuck, bored with talking, I dropped my fork and grasped her nape. Then I put my eyes on her.
She drank me up like she was starving.
Deliberately, I picked her fork up, stabbed some food and brought it to her lips. Lowering my voice, I tested her. “Open your mouth.”
For two heartbeats she stared at me.
Anticipation surged, wondering if she’d comply, but ultimately hoping she wouldn’t. I bent women. I made them cave to my commands, then I gave them the mind-blowing orgasms they wanted. But it was never a challenge. It hadn’t been for years. In fact, I couldn’t remember the last time a woman had been a challenge.
That alone should’ve been a warning. But add in the fact that I wanted this young-as-fuck, spoiled, hot mess of a woman to be my own personal fuck toy, and I should’ve been calling Luna to tell him to pull my ass off this assignment.
The only smart move was to disengage.
But I didn’t fucking do it.
I increased the pressure on the back of her neck, I touched the food to her lips, and I actually put fucking effort into my command. Stroking her neck, taking the threat out of my tone, I dropped my disinterested expression and let her see how goddamn much I wanted her. “Eat the food, Audrina.”


Author Bio:
Sybil Bartel grew up in Northern California with her head in a book and her feet in the sand. She dreamt of becoming a painter but the heady scent of libraries with their shelves full of books drew her into the world of storytelling. She loves the New Adult genre, but any story about a love so desperately wrong and impossibly beautiful makes her swoon.
Sybil now resides in Southern Florida and while she doesn’t get to read as much as she likes, she still buries her toes in the sand. If she isn’t writing or fighting to contain the banana plantation in her backyard, you can find her spending time with her handsomely tattooed husband, her brilliantly practical son and a mischievous miniature boxer…
But Seriously?
Here are ten things you probably really want to know about Sybil.
She grew up a faculty brat. She can swear like a sailor. She loves men in uniform. She hates being told what to do. She can do your taxes (but don’t ask). The Bird Market in Hong Kong freaks her out. Her favorite word is desperate…or dirty, or both—she can’t decide. She has a thing for muscle cars. But never reply on her for driving directions, ever. And she has a new book boyfriend every week—don’t tell her husband.
To find out more about Sybil Bartel, be sure to follow her on Twitter (she loves to hear about your favorite book boyfriend!), visit her website, like her on Facebook or join her Facebook group Book Boyfriend Heroes for exclusive excerpts and giveaways.

XBTBanner1

Popular Posts