Thank you for visiting Jagged Edge Reviews. We have a lot of exciting reviews, guest posts, cover reveals and book blitz coming up!

Monday, November 25, 2013

Review: Just Breathe by Jeanette Paul


Title: Just Breathe
Author: Jeanette Paul
Publisher: Random Romance
Stars: 5


Summary: Opposites attract in this funny, touching and deliciously romantic novel as hippie Dee meets millionaire businessman Ethan - and her calm world is turned upside down...

Dee Nichols is a free-spirited yoga teacher, albeit a broke one. But she's not interested in money or possessions or thinking too far into the future. After surviving a terrible car accident, she's just happy to be breathing.

Then Dee meets Ethan Roxburgh at a Christmas party. As the head of Roxburgh Holdings, and a regular in the social pages, he's the opposite of what Dee wants in her life. Until a job modelling yoga in a TV commercial turns Dee into an overnight celebrity…

Thrust into a whole new world of business and PR (as well as high-heels and plunging necklines) Dee is out of her comfort zone and suddenly Ethan is perfect – as a mentor. Or would be, if she wasn't so damn attracted to him. After all, he'd never look twice at a short, accident-prone yoga instructor with market-stall couture …

Then Ethan does look twice - and life gets sweet and sexy as hell.

Written by
Jaye Ford under her alter ego Janette Paul.


Review: This books pretty good. But I'm not a fan of Lucy she's kind of annoying, controlling and manipulative. Normally when a characters names Lucy I have no problem but I just don't like this one. And Val, Dee's mother reminds me of mine in so many ways. However Ethan and Dee are amazing! But I really love this book all together! It had hardship and love. It shows you that you can over come your hardships. I think it's kind of a hopeful book. I really do like it! :) Must read!

Sunday, November 17, 2013

Review: How to Enhance your life with astrology by Arthyr w. Chadbourne

Title: How to enhance your life with astrology
Author: Arthyr W. Chadbourne

Summary: To the untrained eye, it seems patently absurd that an astrology chart may be something more than a wheel with randomly placed symbols. But to the trained eye celestial configurations present obvious messages that are easily recognized. How to Enhance Your Life with Astrology can guide you to learn how these messages are conveyed and how you can interpret them. It has been said that "Chance favors the prepared mind" and when the planetary angels speak, those who listen are well prepared. As astrologers, we have truly learned to read destiny.

Review: Sadly I couldn't stand to read this book. It's kind of... Boring! I couldn't help but skip ahead then again and again. But the good news is I'm not super into astrology. How is that good news you may ask? Well simple, that means those of you who are super into it may just absolutely love this book! I don't suggest it to someone who is just getting into astrology. Because it may have the same effect on you as it did me. 

Thursday, November 14, 2013

Review: Playing the Part by Darcy Daniel

Title: Playing the Part
Author: Darcy Daniel
Publication date: 2013
Stars: 5
Caution: Adult Novels

Summary: Anthea Cane is a successful actress—well, action star. Her films are mostly about how hot she looks silhouetted by fiery explosions. But Anthea is determined to prove she's more than just a body. With the role of a lifetime up for grabs—a serious adaptation of her favorite novel—Anthea sets off to her small hometown in the name of research.

Cole Daniel is a blind farmer with no patience for divas, especially one who mercilessly teased him as a young boy. When Anthea shows up using a fake name and pestering him into letting her stay, he can't pass up the opportunity to torment her just a little.

But Anthea won't let the stubborn farmer deter her from her goal, even if he is hotter than any man she's ever met. Cole finds his form of payback less than satisfying when Anthea keeps turning the tables on him, proving her mettle and gaining his respect. Will Anthea's research land her a man, as well as the part?


Reviews: I absolutely loved this book! It's amazing I wish I could read it over & over again. I also hope that there is to be a second book following this one because it's just absolutely amazing! Must read! 5 stars!

Review: Downfall of a Good Girl by Kimberly Lang

Caution: Adult Novel
Tile: Downfall of a Good Girl
Author: Kimberly Lang
Publisher: Harlequin Kiss
Publication date: 2013
Series: LaBlanc sisters #1
Stars: 5

Summary: Southern debutante Vivienne LaBlanc can't believe bad-boy rock star Connor Mansfield is back in town for the New Orleans annual Saints and Sinners pageant. He has a reputation as wicked as his devilish smile, and Vivi has no intention of becoming one of his latest groupies! He once crushed her high school heart, so playing the saint to Connor's sinner should be easy. But how can Vivi get those less-than-angelic thoughts out of her head-especially when Connor's so good at tempting her to be bad?

Review: Adult novel. This book was fantastic! I loved this book, the characters & the chemistry. I also loved that it's based in New Orleans. There's bound to be magic when New Orleans is involved! <3 & it's amazing! Gosh I loved this book. Must read! 5 stars. 

Review: Getting Married & Other Mistakes by Barbra Slate

Title: getting Married & Other Mistake
Author: Barbra Slate
Publisher: other press
Publication date: June 12, 2012
Stars: 5

Summary: Accomplished comic artist Barbara Slate--who has been called "titanically talented" by Stan Lee and her work "emphatically of our time" by the New York Times--lets it all out in a savagely funny and emotionally honest fictional narrative, told in a series of hilarious panels.

  After having been a good girl and following her mother’s advice to snag a husband before she became a twenty-something spinster, Barbara Slate realized that her Mr. Right was actually Mr. Wrong and that she was living her life according to everyone’s rules but her own. After twelve years of an unblissful marriage, she made her escape.
   Now this accomplished comic artist lets it all out in a savagely funny and emotionally honest fictional narrative. Jo, her stand-in protagonist, is a successful wedding photographer (of all things) who has been dumped by her husband and desperately needs to get on with her life. She follows her friends’ advice to get laid, see a shrink, go out more, and live a little. Nothing works. Eventually she realizes that she must stop listening to what everybody else tells her and follow her own voice instead.
   Jo’s struggle with female guilt and her quest for self-awareness, told in a series of hilarious panels, is the perfect book for any woman needing to take back control of her life, or remembering when she did.


"A must-read for any woman who has ever been cheated on, owned a Barbie, or once believed their mother's version of ‘happily ever after’. Skip the pity party and buy this book!” —Josie Brown, author, Secret Lives of Husbands and Wives and The Housewife Assassin's Handbook

Review: This book is kind of part comic, part book! It's really quiet adorable & funny! I shockingly couldn't stop reading it. I'm interested to see what the author comes up with next! It's a rather short story but very well written. Must read. Loved! 5 stars. 

Tuesday, November 12, 2013

Review: Addicted to you by K.B. Ritchie

Title: Addicted to you

Author: K. B. Richie

Publication date: 2013            

Stars: 5


Summary: She’s addicted to sex. He’s addicted to booze…the only way out is rock bottom.


No one would suspect shy Lily Calloway’s biggest secret. While everyone is dancing at college bars, Lily stays in the bathroom. To get laid. Her compulsion leads her to one-night stands, steamy hookups and events she shamefully regrets. The only person who knows her secret happens to have one of his own.

Loren Hale’s best friend is his bottle of bourbon. Lily comes at a close second. For three years, they’ve pretended to be in a real relationship, hiding their addictions from their families. They’ve mastered the art of concealing flasks and random guys that filter in and out of their apartment.

But as they sink beneath the weight of their addictions, they cling harder to their destructive relationship and wonder if a life together, for real, is better than a lie. Strangers and family begin to infiltrate their guarded lives, and with new challenges, they realize they may not just be addicted to alcohol and sex.

Their real vice may be each other. 

New Adult Romance recommended for readers 18+ for mature content     


Review: In the beginning of the book it a good book but it wasn't a great book. It's not one of those books that I just couldn't put down but I liked it. But then the book started to get better and I fell in love. I understood their addiction and where they were coming from. I understood them. The books amazing. The twists are super unexpected. 5 stars

Review: Thrown by Colette Auclair

Title: Thrown
Author: Colette Auclair
Publisher: pocket star ebooks 
Publication date: December 16,2013

Summary: THROWN is a lighthearted yet steamy contemporary romance by Golden Heart finalist Colette Auclair, featuring a young woman who must choose between capturing a gold medal and the man who’s captured her heart.

In THROWN, professional trainer Amanda Vogel dreams of riding jumpers in the Olympics, but after seeing her best friend die in a riding accident, she’s so traumatized she can’t show. Broke and desperate, she takes a summer job in Aspen teaching some big-shot widowed movie star’s spoiled daughters to ride—even though she hates teaching kids. She braces herself for three miserable months. But by Labor Day, she has to choose between capturing a gold medal…and the man who has captured her heart.

THROWN was a 2012 Golden Heart finalist in the single-title contemporary romance category. It also won the 2011 Winter Rose Contest (Yellow Rose Romance Writers) and finaled in the 2011 Cleveland Rocks Romance Contest (North East Ohio Romance Writers Association).

Review: I absolutely loved the book! I wish I would come out in paper back. I've always been a big fan of horses and story's about them although I have never ridden one before. This book is purely amazing. It's heart wrenching and painful. It's amazing and bright. It's everything and awesome book should be. It's approximately 400+ I finished it in 3 hours. I just couldn't put it down even though I finished it at about 4am. Even though I am completely exhausted I would most defiantly read this book over again in a heart beat.  I want to know more about their story this little family is very interesting and entertaining. Loved this book must read!

Cover Reveal! Hyperion Keats by Molly Zenk

Hyperion Keats by Molly Zenk
Published by: Highland Press
Release Date: December 4th, 2013

Synopsis: 

Three modern teens, a 200-year-old diary, a literary mystery to solve. 

 

Twelve-year-old Hyperion Frances Keats, great-great grand niece of poet John Keats, hates tip-toeing around her older sister's “medical diagnosis”.  Why is Isabella so determined to turn her back on what makes her unique in a sea of wannabes?  Is popularity more important than the truth?


The sisters and boy-next-door Will find themselves in the middle of a mystery after discovering a 200-year-old diary written by the girl who inspired the sonnet “To A Lady Seen For A Moment At Vauxhall.”   The teens aren't the only ones after the answers found in the pages from the past, though.   The LBT Brotherhood – a secret society dedicated to preserving the Romantic Poets three creeds of  love, beauty, and truth – want the secrets contained in the diary to remain lost to time and will stop at nothing to silence Hyperion, Isabella, and Will forever. 


Excerpt:

I barely crack the door open before Neighbor Boy launches into a spiel that may or may not be rehearsed—I can't really tell because he's talking too fast for me to guess one way or the other. “Hi, I'm not a stalker or anything so don't get freaked out, okay? But I saw the historical marker in your front yard and had a couple of quick questions if you, uh, don't mind me, uh, asking. You don't mind me asking stuff, do you? I can go away if you do.”  He blinks nervously a ton of times in anticipation of me either saying yes and waiting for his couple of supposedly quick questions or no and slamming the door in his face. Why would I say no? He's the prettiest boy I've ever seen up close. Even if boys don't like to be called pretty, with his huge blue eyes and unruly, anime character hair, that's the only word that comes to mind. Pretty. My heart does this funny little fluttery jump like I've run a mile in under five minutes and I'm positive my palms are too sweaty to shut the door. Even if I wanted to, shutting the door means he'd go away and there's no way I'm letting that happen. Especially not on my birthday.


“Go ahead. Ask your questions,” I whisper because I seriously doubt I can say it louder even if I wanted to right now.

 “Great.” He flashes a lopsided grin that makes my heart fluttering turn into a hammering. “Is this really the George Keats House? Like the real George Keats, brother to the poet John Keats’ house, and you actually live here-live here and not keep it up like a museum or something? Do I have to buy admission because I'm, like, standing on your yard?”

“Um, yes, yes, no, and no,” I field his jumbled together questions in order. 

“Really? Are you like direct descendants or did you just buy the house from someone else and decided the historical marker was a cool trick to attract fan boys like me?”

His rapid fire, excited delivery is getting easier to understand. For a second, I think about Isabella by the window seat with her natural light waiting to make her good first impression, and about how Mom always tells me not to talk to strangers because she reads way too much of Nancy Grace's child snatching Headline News blog, but it's like my mouth is on auto-pilot as my heart ratchets away in my chest and I answer anything Neighbor Boy asks. “Direct,” I say. “Or Dad is, which makes us too. Mom was just a Romantic Poets fan girl who lucked out by meeting Dad in some college class and marrying in. They both teach at the university. British Lit.”

Neighbor Boy pushes his sandy blond hair out of his face with one long-fingered hand and, I think, even if I don't like to do manual labor on my birthday, I got the better deal by agreeing to open the front door. While Isabella is hanging out in the kitchen imaging what he's like, I don't have to imagine. I know.

About the Author:

Inline image 2

Molly Zenk was born in Minnesota, grew up in Florida, lived briefly in Tennessee, before finally settling in Colorado.   She graduated from Flagler College in St. Augustine, FL with degrees in Secondary Education, English, and Creative Writing.  She spent six years using those degrees teaching High School English, Poetry, and Creative Writing before going on “hiatus” to focus on being a stay-at-home/work-at-home Mom.   Molly is married to a Mathematician/Software Engineer who complains about there not being enough “math” or info about him in her author bio.  They live in Arvada, CO with their  young daughters, one dog, and one cat.

Friday, November 1, 2013

Friday Flicks: Beautiful Creatures

A weekly review of a book to film adaptation. 
 
Beautiful Creatures
 
Summary:
Lena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she's struggling to conceal her power, and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even within the overgrown gardens, murky swamps and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever.

Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lena moves into the town's oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them.

In a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything.
 
 
 
Review: This was a good movie but as always I loved the book series more. It didn't hold my attention as well but I still look forward to the next movie if there is one. I will probably watch it again of course. Now to get caught up on reading the series. 
4 stars out of 5 stars

Thursday, October 31, 2013

Cover Reveal! It's a Shame

 


 

 

 



Grace and Cole were trying to put the pieces of their broken lives back in place, working towards a future together. It seems as though things were just starting to get back to normal. Well, as normal as things could be for the survivors of a twisted serial killer. What they didn't know, what neither of them expected, was that their nightmare was just beginning.

They were about to be pulled back into the clutches of a madman, but this time, they weren't the only potential victims.

Was their love strong enough to get them through the next disaster? Do they have what it takes to stay together, or iswhats lurking

around the corner too much for them both?   

 

 

 

Goodreads 

website http://www.c-e-hansen.me 

twitter CynthiaEHansen 

Buy Book 1 on AMAZON

Book 2 It's A Shame available November 11th

 

 

 

It's a Crime

by C.E. Hansen

Wealthy New York socialite Grace Preston uses men for amusement, holding her heart inside an ice fortress for protection. Spurned by a sociopathic male model, Grace picks up a new man with all the right moves; smooth as bourbon, Cole slides under her wall and touches her in places she thought were well-guarded. But after a weekend of fiery passion, he leaves, devastating her.

$0.99

Original Price: $3.9

Get this deal:Amazon

 

 

HTML It’s A Shame by C.E. Hansen

 

<br />

<div class="separator" style="clear: both; text-align: center;">

<a href="http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-1X9aKOtb5xQ/UnGpfwKAkDI/AAAAAAAACdg/dQw4PbxelsY/s1600/its+a+crime+and+shame++small+banner+1.jpg" imageanchor="1" style="margin-left: 1em; margin-right: 1em;"><img border="0" height="220" src="http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-1X9aKOtb5xQ/UnGpfwKAkDI/AAAAAAAACdg/dQw4PbxelsY/s640/its+a+crime+and+shame++small+banner+1.jpg" width="640" /></a></div>

<div class="separator" style="clear: both; text-align: center;">

<a href="http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-tb26Iqjygwc/UnGrr-UqzXI/AAAAAAAACeA/CP0b4SRH2ac/s1600/cover+blog+back.png" imageanchor="1" style="margin-left: 1em; margin-right: 1em;"><img border="0" src="http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-tb26Iqjygwc/UnGrr-UqzXI/AAAAAAAACeA/CP0b4SRH2ac/s1600/cover+blog+back.png" /></a></div>

<div class="separator" style="clear: both; text-align: center;">

<br /></div>

<div class="separator" style="clear: both; text-align: center;">

<br /></div>

<div class="separator" style="clear: both; text-align: center;">

<a href="http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-0J4VOTf47fc/UnGpfzi-Y-I/AAAAAAAACdc/9AxK8VdEAik/s1600/its+a+shame+BookCoverPreview.do.jpg" imageanchor="1" style="margin-left: 1em; margin-right: 1em;"><img border="0" height="478" src="http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-0J4VOTf47fc/UnGpfzi-Y-I/AAAAAAAACdc/9AxK8VdEAik/s640/its+a+shame+BookCoverPreview.do.jpg" width="640" /></a></div>

<br />

<div class="separator" style="clear: both; text-align: center;">

</div>

<br />

<span style="background-color: white; color: #444444; font-family: inherit; font-size: medium;"><br /></span>

<span style="background-color: white; color: #444444; font-family: inherit; font-size: medium;"><br /></span>

<span style="background-color: white; color: #444444; font-family: inherit; font-size: medium;">Grace and Cole were trying to put the pieces of their broken lives back in place, working towards a future together. It seems as though things were just starting to get back to normal. Well, as normal as things could be for the survivors of a twisted serial killer. What they didn't know, what neither of them expected, was that their nightmare was just&nbsp;beginning.</span><br />

<div style="background-color: white; color: #444444; font-size: 15px; line-height: 21px;">

</div>

<div style="background-color: white; color: #444444; font-size: 15px; line-height: 21px;">

<span style="font-family: inherit; font-size: medium; line-height: normal;">They were about to be pulled back into the clutches of a madman, but this time, they weren't the only potential victims.</span></div>

<div style="background-color: white; color: #444444; font-size: 15px; line-height: 21px;">

<span style="font-family: inherit; font-size: medium; line-height: normal;">Was their love strong enough to get them through the next disaster? Do they have what it takes tostay&nbsp;together, or is whats lurking</span></div>

<div style="background-color: white; color: #444444; font-size: 15px; line-height: 21px;">

<span style="font-family: inherit; font-size: medium; line-height: normal;">around the corner too much for them both? </span><span style="font-family: Arial; font-size: medium; line-height: normal;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></div>

<div style="background-color: white; color: #444444; line-height: 21px;">

<div style="color: #333333; font-family: 'Coming Soon'; font-size: 16px; line-height: 19px;">

<br />

<span data-mce-style="font-family: inherit;"><br /></span>

<br />

<div class="separator" style="clear: both; text-align: center;">

<a href="http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-4AXMPKH3HK0/Um3LPminC1I/AAAAAAAACUY/FV6BA2vovMw/s1600/links+blog+back.png" imageanchor="1" style="color: #74252a; margin-left: 1em; margin-right: 1em; text-decoration: none;"><img border="0" src="http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-4AXMPKH3HK0/Um3LPminC1I/AAAAAAAACUY/FV6BA2vovMw/s1600/links+blog+back.png" style="-webkit-box-shadow: rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.2) 0px 0px0px; background-color: transparent; border-bottom-left-radius: 0px; border-bottom-right-radius: 0px; border-top-left-radius: 0px; border-top-right-radius: 0px; border: 1px solid transparent; box-shadow: rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.2) 0px 0px 0px; padding: 8px; position: relative;" /></a></div>

<div class="separator" style="clear: both; text-align: center;">

</div>

<span data-mce-style="font-family: inherit;"><br /></span></div>

<div style="color: #333333; line-height: 19px;">

<div style="text-align: center;">

<div style="line-height: 19px; text-align: start;">

<h4 style="color: #6e083a; line-height: normal; margin: 0px; padding: 5px 0px 0px; position: relative; text-align: center;">

<span style="font-family: inherit;"><span data-mce-style="color: #3c2bb6; font-family: inherit; font-size: x-large;" style="color: #3c2bb6;"><a data-mce-href="http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7112110.C_E_Hansen"href="http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7112110.C_E_Hansen" style="color: #3c2bb6; text-decoration: none;">Goodreads</a></span>&nbsp;</span></h4>

</div>

<h4 style="line-height: 19px; margin: 0px; padding: 5px 0px0px; position: relative; text-align: start;">

<div style="text-align: center;">

<span data-mce-style="font-family: inherit; font-size: x-large;" style="font-family: inherit; line-height: 19px;">website&nbsp;<a data-mce-href="http://www.c-e-hansen.me/" data-mce-style="font-size: 13px;" href="http://www.c-e-hansen.me/"rel="nofollow" style="color: #3c2bb6; text-decoration: none;" target="_blank">http://www.c-e-hansen.me</a></span><span style="font-family: inherit; line-height: 19px;">&nbsp;</span></div>

<span style="font-family: inherit;"><div style="text-align: center;">

<span data-mce-style="font-family: inherit; font-size: x-large;" style="font-family: inherit; line-height: 19px;"><a data-mce-href="http://www.twitter.com/CynthiaEHansen"href="http://www.twitter.com/CynthiaEHansen" style="color: #3c2bb6; text-decoration: none;">twitter</a>&nbsp;<a data-mce-href="http://www.twitter.com/CynthiaEHansen"href="http://www.twitter.com/CynthiaEHansen" rel="nofollow" style="color: #3c2bb6; text-decoration: none;" target="_blank">CynthiaEHansen</a></span><span style="font-family: inherit; line-height: 19px;">&nbsp;</span></div>

</span></h4>

<div style="line-height: 19px; text-align: start;">

<h4 style="color: #6e083a; line-height: normal; margin: 0px; padding: 5px 0px 0px; position: relative; text-align: center;">

<a data-mce-href="http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00CR73D0I/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&amp;camp=1789&amp;creative=390957&amp;creativeASIN=B00CR73D0I&amp;linkCode=as2&amp;tag=readrene-20" href="http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00CR73D0I/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&amp;camp=1789&amp;creative=390957&amp;creativeASIN=B00CR73D0I&amp;linkCode=as2&amp;tag=readrene-20" style="color: #3c2bb6; text-decoration: none;">Buy Book 1 on AMAZON</a></h4>

<div style="text-align: center;">

Book 2 It's A Shame available November 11th</div>

</div>

</div>

<div>

<br /></div>

<div>

</div>

</div>

</div>

<div style="background-color: white; color: #444444; font-size: 15px; line-height: 21px;">

<br /></div>

<div style="color: #444444; line-height: 21px; margin-bottom: 1.35em; text-align: center;">

<span style="background-color: white;"><span style="color: black; line-height: 21px;"><strong style="line-height: 21px;"><span style="line-height: 34px;"><span style="font-family: book antiquapalatino; font-size: large;"><span style="line-height: 34px;"></span></span></span></strong></span></span></div>

<div class="separator" style="clear: both; text-align: center;">

<strong style="line-height: 21px;"><span style="font-family: book antiquapalatino; font-size: large;"></span></strong></div>

<strong></strong><br />

<div style="text-align: center;">

<strong><strong><span style="font-family: book antiqua,palatino; font-size: large; line-height: 21px;"><imgheight="330" src="https://blu179.mail.live.com/Handlers/ImageProxy.mvc?bicild=&amp;canary=rjlk99YFho%2bAoAifTlu9Ce%2fFlxVvvlw%2bJzDOC%2bryXMw%3d0&amp;url=http%3a%2f%2fsweetfreebooks.com%2fwp-content%2fuploads%2f2013%2f10%2fitsacrime.jpg" style="line-height: 34px; padding: 10px;" width="200" /></span></strong></strong></div>

<strong>

<span style="font-size: large;"></span></strong>

<br />

<div style="text-align: center;">

<strong><span style="font-size: large;"><span style="line-height: 20.99431800842285px;"><br /></span></span></strong></div>

<strong><span style="font-size: large;">

</span></strong>

<div style="color: #444444; line-height: 21px; margin-bottom: 1.35em; text-align: center;">

<strong style="background-color: white; color: black; line-height: 21px;"><span style="line-height: 34px;"><span style="font-family: inherit; font-size: large;">It's a Crime</span></span></strong></div>

<div style="color: #444444; line-height: 21px; margin-bottom: 1.35em; text-align: center;">

<span style="background-color: white;"><span style="font-family: inherit;"><span style="color: black; line-height: 22px;"><span style="font-size: large;">by C.E. Hansen</span></span></span></span></div>

<div style="color: #444444; line-height: 21px; margin-bottom:1.35em;">

<span style="background-color: white; color: #666666; line-height: 18px;"><span style="font-family: inherit;">Wealthy New York socialite Grace Preston uses men for amusement, holding her heart inside an ice fortress for protection. Spurned by a sociopathic male model, Grace picks </span></span><span style="background-color: white; color: #666666; font-family: inherit; line-height: 18px;">up a new man with all the right moves; smooth as bourbon, Cole slides under her wall and touches her in places she thought were well-guarded. But after a weekend of fiery passion, he leaves, devastating her.</span></div>

<div style="color: #444444; line-height: 21px; margin-bottom: 1.35em; text-align: center;">

<strong style="background-color: white; font-family: inherit; line-height: 21px;"><span style="color: #bd3a33; line-height: 45px;">$0.99</span></strong></div>

<div style="color: #444444; line-height: 21px; margin-bottom: 1.35em; text-align: center;">

<span style="background-color: white;"><span style="font-family: inherit;"><del style="line-height: 21px;"><span style="line-height: 21px;"><em style="line-height: 21px;"><span style="color: #bf3730; line-height: 22px;"><span style="color: black; line-height: 22px;">Original Price: $3.99</span></span></em></span></del></span></span></div>

<div style="color: #444444; line-height: 21px; margin-bottom: 1.35em; text-align: center;">

<span style="background-color: white; color: black; line-height: 22px;"><span style="font-family: inherit;"><strong style="line-height: 22px;"><span style="line-height: 18px;">Get this deal:</span></strong><a href="http://sweetfreebooks.emlnk1.com/lt.php?s=eedfd63173b690132c8ee56502817906&amp;i=141A148A1A3522" style="color: #0068cf; cursor: pointer; line-height: 22px;" target="_blank"><span style="line-height: 34px;">Amazon</span></a></span></span></div>

Wednesday, October 30, 2013

Far From You by Tess Sharpe

Far From You by Tess Sharpe 

Publication date: 4/8/14

Publisher: Hyperion

Pages: 352

Stars: 5+


Summary:

Sophie Winters nearly died. Twice.

The first time, she's fourteen, and escapes a near-fatal car accident with scars, a bum leg, and an addiction to Oxy that'll take years to kick.

The second time, she's seventeen, and it's no accident. Sophie and her best friend Mina are confronted by a masked man in the woods. Sophie survives, but Mina is not so lucky. When the cops deem Mina's murder a drug deal gone wrong, casting partial blame on Sophie, no one will believe the truth: Sophie has been clean for months, and it was Mina who led her into the woods that night for a meeting shrouded in mystery.

After a forced stint in rehab, Sophie returns home to a chilly new reality. Mina's brother won't speak to her, her parents fear she'll relapse, old friends have become enemies, and Sophie has to learn how to live without her other half. To make matters worse, no one is looking in the right places and Sophie must search for Mina's murderer on her own. But with every step, Sophie comes closer to revealing all: about herself, about Mina and about the secret they shared


Review: This book is just... I have no words for it. It's amazing and sad, heart wrenching. These characters are so real. That by the end you just want to cry for all the losses and smile for all the good stuff. I will defiantly be reading more books by this author. And I will defiantly be holding this story close to my heart this is the best book I've read all year. I feel like I was apart of it that I was there while everything was going on. When Sophie was scared I was scared when she was happy I was smiling. This is an amazing book and it makes you feel so much. Once this book hits shelves I'll probably be the first to buy it. 5+ Stars


Review: Pawn by Amiee Carter

Title: Pawn

Author: Amiee Carter

Publisher: Harlequin  

Publication date: 2013

Stars: 5 stars  


Summary:  

YOU CAN BE A VII. IF YOU GIVE UP EVERYTHING. 

For Kitty Doe, it seems like an easy choice. She can either spend her life as a III in misery, looked down upon by the higher ranks and forced to leave the people she loves, or she can become a VII and join the most powerful family in the country. 

If she says yes, Kitty will be Masked—surgically transformed into Lila Hart, the Prime Minister's niece, who died under mysterious circumstances. As a member of the Hart family, she will be famous. She will be adored. And for the first time, she will matter. 

There's only one catch. She must also stop the rebellion that Lila secretly fostered, the same one that got her killed …and one Kitty believes in. Faced with threats, conspiracies and a life that's not her own, she must decide which path to choose—and learn how to become more than a pawn in a twisted game she's only beginning to understand.

Previously titled Masked.


Review: I was afraid at the beginning of the book that I wouldn't like this book just by reading the first two sentences. Of course that's how I was with Goddess Test and I loved that series. But let me tell you this. The book is freaking WEIRD. Normally this is not the style of book I like but by the time I reached the end of the book I was in love with it and I can't wait to read the next book, Captive! 5 Stars


-kati


Friday, October 25, 2013

Friday Flicks: Perks of being a wallflower

A weekly review of a book to film adaptation. 
 
Perks of being a wallflower
Summary:
Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective…but there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor.

Since its publication, Stephen Chbosky’s haunting debut novel has received critical acclaim, provoked discussion and debate, grown into a cult phenomenon with over two million copies in print, spent over six months at #1 on the New York Times bestseller list, and inspired a major motion picture.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a story about what it’s like to travel that strange course through the uncharted territory of high school. The world of first dates, family dramas, and new friends. Of sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show. Of those wild and poignant roller-coaster days known as growing up
 
Book to movie:
I loved the book! I loved the movie! Ahh I don't know which was better! So amazing! This is a must watch! Seriously I read the book and loved it but when I heard about them making a movie I was a little worried. What if the ruined it, What if they didn't have good actors, etc. I'm not worried anymore because it was just amazing. Emma Watson and all the other characters did amazing! I'm sorry I am so excited about this movie. It was way better then I could have ever imagined. 
5 out of 5 stars

Popular Posts