Thank you for visiting Jagged Edge Reviews. We look forward to celebrating 2019 with you!

Tuesday, January 22, 2019

Review: Touch Me by Lynn Crandall

Title: Touch Me 
Author: Lynn Crandall 
Publisher: Independently Published 
Publication: September 12, 2018
Series: Dark Side Book 1
Pages: 383
Stars: 4

Summary:
Bounty hunter Payson Silver stands on the top of the tallest building in her city and sees
proof below in the cries for help, the theft underway, and fighting in progress that darkness is growing. Locating skips, lost people, and objects is only one of her jobs. Born an Aeon, a direct descendent of evolved people of Atlantis, Payson came into the world knowing her purpose in life – to balance dark energies with light and prevent the world from going deeply into darkness, starting with the City of Auralia. Alongside the love of her life, Braden Powers, and other fellow Aeons, she uses her psychometric ability and special skills to defeat the mission of Dark Aspects, or DAs as she calls them, from turning the city into darkness. Her greatest weapon against the darkness is her ability to send the energy of light and love into the world. Her greatest obstacle to saving the world is fellow Aeon turned DA, Diane Butler, and her own resistance to her mission.

Braden too battles a lack of commitment to the Aeons’ mission, and the reminder that he
lost control of his mind-control ability once with dire consequences. While he understands the importance of his work, it is only head-deep, not within his heart.

As bounty hunter and police officer, Payson and Braden counter darkness by enforcing
justice and protecting residents from those who harm others and commit crimes. But when
Diane’s dark jealousy drives her to block Braden’s mind to his real life and create a new one for him, Payson can’t stop her. To lose her love is devastating and she knows she has only ten days to bring him back to the light.

Dark forces are powerful, and Payson and Braden battle to save each other and their
precious relationship, while the fate of the world lies in balance. The battle for good goes on
under the radar of humanity, but the outcome will mean the difference of a thriving planet or the slow death of all that is. They face difficult choices to save their love, save their souls, and save the world from succumbing to the Dark Side.

Review:
The novel was definitely a different perspective on the world. I did enjoy how action packed and full of suspense that was throughout the whole novel. I highly enjoyed the novel and the action that took place. I enjoyed how the story line kept your attention till the end and leaves you eager to read the squeal. The little bit of romance was tied in very well. How loving someone could end an entire city, reminded me of Troy. I would recommend this book, especially if you enjoy science fiction.
- Victoria 

Monday, January 21, 2019

Book Blitz: By Any Means by James Morris


By Any Means
James Morris
Publication date: January 2nd 2019
Genres: Adult, Thriller
How Far Would You Go To Save Your Son?
Lucas Turner is an ordinary teenager with an extraordinary genetic mutation: the cure for cancer rests in his body. When his father discovers that the only way to harvest the cure will result in the death of his son, he kidnaps him from the hospital, setting off a calamity of events from which there is no turning back.
Meanwhile, the doctor, intent on a cure at any cost, hires a female bounty hunter to bring the boy back by any means. She’s never failed before and doesn’t intend to fail now.
While on the run, the estranged father and son build a relationship on the road that brings them closer to the mistakes of the past and the consequences of the future. By Any Means is a literary thriller, and at its core is about a relationship between a father and son against all odds. The remedy, after all, may be less about science and more the human heart.
EXCERPT:
He heard Lucas calling out in the distance and his reedy cry, infused with terror, made the hair on Keith’s arms stand on end. Keith ran down a hospital hallway that seemed to stretch on forever, pulling like warm taffy into a horizon he would never reach.
“Daddy!” Lucas screamed, a word he hadn’t used since he was a toddler.
“I’m coming!” The walls shrunk, squeezing against him; impossibly, the cold hardness of the wall rubbed against his elbows, the air heavy in his lungs, the sour smell of worms and shit, the incline steeper, impossibly slow. He couldn’t move his legs fast enough.
Something followed him. Not a person; a presence. A darkness that swallowed even the dark, making it more than just the absence of light. Something malevolent, something he couldn’t even name. He dared not look back lest he give it form. He knew if he saw it, it would consume him whole.
His son wailed once more.
The hallway door was closer, and he grabbed onto the knob, fearing it would slip from his hands, and turned—
Inside, he looked up, the air leaving his lungs and thought from his mind—a monster. Under the green tint of lights, strapped to a vertical gurney, arms outstretched, standing on display, the monster was his son. Skin desiccated, wrinkled, tubes running along his limbs, pumping him like a human cow, viscous fluid siphoning from him, withering him to nothing, his life force draining into machines. His son’s eyes rolled back, and the top of his head—his head, what’s wrong with his head—a red seam ran along the skull and the rest, where his hair should be, was gone, removed like the top of a teapot. Lucas lifted his hand and reached toward his father, his lips parched, his voice like wet gravel, “Help me…”
Keith woke, his body wet with perspiration, the nightmare fading, his heart slowing to its regular rhythm, how silly, how stupid, I haven’t had a nightmare in ages, and he looked over to check on his son in the bed next to him.
Lucas was having a seizure.
For a moment he was tangled in his blanket, then he rushed to Lucas’s side. Not knowing what else to do, he held him. “I’m here, son, I’m here.” Keith hadn’t witnessed a seizure before, and it scared him, the uncontrollable movements, hands flailing, teeth grinding; the sound of sandpaper against metal, the body contorted, turbulent and twitching.
His son was stronger than Keith imagined; he could barely hang onto him. Lucas’s feet swiveled and inadvertently hit Keith in the shin. He held onto his son, feeling Lucas’s waves of muscle tension, releasing and tightening and repeating. Not since Lucas was a swaddled baby had Keith held him so long and so tight, body to body, embraced.
“I won’t let you go. I won’t let you go.”
The convulsions didn’t stop. They continued for over a minute, an eternity, and kept going. Keith didn’t know what to do. Instead, he whispered, “It’s gonna be all right, Lucas. You’re safe. You’re safe.”


Author Bio:
James Morris is a former television writer who now works in digital media. When not writing, you can find him scoping out the latest sushi spot, watching 'House Hunters Renovation', or trying new recipes in the kitchen. He lives with his wife and dog in Los Angeles.


XBTBanner1

Sunday, January 20, 2019

Review: Spark by S.L. Scott

Title: Spark
Author: S.L. Scott 
Publication Date: February 22, 2018
Series: The Crow Brothers 
Pages: 394
Stars: 5 stars

Summary: One break is all The Crow Brothers need and we’re about to get it. 

Johnny Outlaw, rock legend and lead singer of The Resistance, is here to watch us play. But he’s not the only familiar face in the crowd—killer little body, heart-shaped face, and drop-dead gorgeous. 

Hannah Nichols sitting at the bar makes it hard to concentrate, sparks already reigniting. The beauty was never a groupie and tonight she’s not here to catch our show. She came to drop a bomb. “You have a son.”

She underestimated me. I’ll prove to my son, and her, that I can be the dad he needs.

What is it about musicians? Why are they so damn sexy?

My heart was Jet Crow’s the moment he opened his sexy mouth and sang that first song. One stolen night with that man would never be enough, but I’m not here to fall into his bed. Again. I’m here to fight for custody of a son he’s never known. 

There’s just one problem. Those sparks between us have become flames. If we’re not careful we’re both going to get burned.

Review:

I am SO happy I finally got to read this book. I really want to read the series with The Resistance next!! I wish I had been able to read this one first as I feel like some of the surprises have been a little ruined for me. However that in now way takes away from Jet and Hannah's love story. This story not only gives you all the feels but by goodness you might just want to call a few people after your done and tell them you love them. Obviously because the book is too good to do it during. Heck I'll just say it right now... Tell your loved ones you love them especially if you might not have said it in a while. I really connected to Hannah in a lot of ways and I'm so thankful fo finally get the full story. I love being able to see the friendship between Dave and Hannah in this book and knowing it appears in all of them. I absolutely love S.L. Scott's writing and I'm very thankful that I got to start my year off with one of her books! I can't wait to see what she comes out with next! She definitely put me in the mood for some good rockstar romances. 

Saturday, January 19, 2019

Book Blitz: Going All In by Thomas Briar


Going All In
Thomas Briar
Publication date: January 15th 2019
Genres: Erotica, Romance
Young, beautiful, and college educated, Lena hides startling secrets. Secrets that set her apart from everyone else and make it almost impossible for her to find true love.
Slightly older than Lena, Trevor’s a handsome and dominant man. The kind with a successful career, a residence of his own, and a secure future. But he’s keeping startling secrets as well.
On their very first date, they’ll bare their souls to each other, indulge in sizzling hot sex, and make an unbreakable emotional connection.
But great sex alone can’t lead two lovers to their very own happily ever after. Can it?
EXCERPT:
Lena thought it time to spill the despicable secret. Her lips parted, but no words came out as fear clutched her heart. She winced at her cowardice.
“What is it?” Trevor asked, features turning sympathetic. “You can tell me, whatever it is.”
“I don’t know how.” She forced a smile.
“Just say it.”
“I was thinking I like you. A lot.” She sighed, nervously fluffing her long blonde hair. “And I don’t want to scare you off.”
“How would you scare me off?” His stare became intense, gaze never wavering from her face.
She took a deep breath, bolstering courage. “I’m not normal. Not like everyone else.”
His grin was filled with indulgence, making him more handsome than before. “If I wanted normal, I would have asked normal out. Instead, I asked you.”
“But you don’t really know me. I’m different.”
“I’m different too, if you haven’t noticed?”
She had. All throughout dinner and dessert, he’d not looked at any other woman in the room, not even the waitress when ordering. His mesmerizing gaze had remained on her.
“I need certain things. Things normal women don’t want.” She looked down at her hands in her lap, not believing she was going all in this soon.
“Tell me,” he insisted. “I won’t judge. Whatever it is.”

Author Bio:
Edgy and provocative in his erotic writings, Thomas Briar strives to exalt the virtues of love and lust in every story he creates. To date, he's written a wide variety in the subgenres of New Adult, Contemporary, Historical, Interracial, and BDSM. He also takes great pride in the fact that he writes the type of erotic stories that twist and turn as the hero and heroine strive wholeheartedly to get exactly what they want from each other.
Which means most of his stories run on the hotter side of the erotica genre with his characters indulging in the type of sex that some would call smutty. For, without a doubt, writing scorching hot sex scenes is Thomas' absolute favorite thing about writing erotica. Well, that, and making sure his characters end up living happily ever after.
Feel free to check out his website at http://thomasbriar.com to find out more about Thomas.

XBTBanner1

Friday, January 18, 2019

Excerpt: Handle with Care by Helena Hunting

Handle with Care by Helena Hunting

Purchase link

Excerpt:
I’m startled out of my thoughts when my brother jumps up and shouts a bunch of profane nonsense, hands flailing like he’s trying to swim on land, or approximate the chicken dance while on an LSD trip.
“You can’t do this! It’s absolute bullshit!” Armstrong yells.
I look around the table, trying to piece together what I missed.
“I’m sorry, Armstrong. I know this is a shock, but we feel it’s in the company’s best interest to put Lincoln at the helm during this transitional stage,” G-mom says firmly.
At the helm? I look to G-mom who’s busy not looking at me.
Armstrong jabs at finger at himself. “But I’m the one who’s put in all the time here! I deserve to run the company! Lincoln doesn’t know the first thing about Moorehead. All he knows how to do is dig wells and forage for food in the wilderness. How are those valuable assets here?” He turns his attention to our mother. “Did you know about this? How can you let this happen? Look at him. How can that be the face of our company? He looks like he crawled out of a gutter and mugged a twenty-year-old college kid on a bender. How is this better for our bottom line?”
My mother clasps her hands in front of her. “I’m sorry, Armstrong, but this decision wasn’t mine to make. I know this is hard for you, but your grandmother and fath—”
Armstrong stomps his foot, exactly as a toddler would. “The company is mine! Lincoln can’t have it!”
I raise a hand, half to quiet my brother and also to find out what the freaking deal is. “Whoa, let’s back this bus up.  Can someone explain what’s going on?”
“You’ve been appointed as the CEO of Moorehead Media, according to the will,” Christophe—no R, because that would make it far too pedestrian a name—my father’s lawyer says.
I’m working on trying to remain calm as I address my grandmother. “You didn’t say anything about me being CEO. You said you needed my help.”
“Running the company, yes,” she says through a practiced, stiff smile.
It’s her warning face, but seriously, when she said she needed my help for a few months I figured it meant I’d be keeping Armstrong in line while she sorted out who was going to take over the company, which I realize now was a stupid assumption.
“I didn’t think that meant CEO. How am I going to run a company with this dickhead on staff?” I motion to my brother.
“The name calling is unnecessary,” G-mom replies.
“Lincoln’s not even part of this family! He hasn’t attended one event in the past five years except for Dad’s funeral. He didn’t bother coming to my wedding and now he’s going to run the company? How is that fair?”
I snort. “Your wedding was an expensive joke.”
He crosses his arms over his chest. “I was set up. Amalie had cold feet and made me out to look like the bad guy.”
The woman beside him shoots him disgusted look.
Armstrong clears his throat and tugs at his collar. “My wedding is not the real issue. The point is that you’ve never involved yourself in any part of this family and now you think you can come in and take over. I will not stand by and let this happen!” He keeps jabbing his finger at me, as if he’s engaged in a finger sword fight.
I lean back in my chair and lace my fingers behind my neck. Armstrong has always been reactive. And self-absorbed. For a while it seemed like he finally had it together—back when he was engaged. But ever since that fiasco of a wedding he seems to have come completely unglued. Again. But worse this time. “Someone needs a timeout.”

Helena Hunting's:
Website
Goodreads
Amazon page
Twitter
Facebook
Instagram

Book Blitz: Kissing Princeton Charming by Frankie Love and C.M. Seabrook


Kissing Princeton Charming
C.M. Seabrook & Frankie Love
Publication date: January 17th 2019
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
We have reputations for a reason.
His?
Spencer Beckett:
Princeton Charming. Ivy League Playboy. Rich AF.
Hers?
Charlotte Hayes:
Campus sweetheart. Virgin. Working her booty off to get through this last semester.
When a bet pushes these two together it’s fire and ice … and Charlotte is melting.
Fast.
But Charlotte has a chip on her shoulder. She doesn’t believe that fairy tales exists in the real world.
One kiss tells her this is a bad idea.
Two kisses tells her he’s too good to be true.
Three kisses and she’s royally screwed.
Spencer Beckett might be everyone else’s Prince Charming but can he sweep this princess off her feet.
EXCERPT:
His eyes are bright, like he sees something he likes, something he wants. It takes me a moment to realize that thing is me.
His hand cups my cheek. “You are an enigma, Charlie Hayes.”
I draw in a tight breath. “And you are very smooth.”
Wait, how does he know my last name? Or for that matter where I live. This whole thing is unnerving.
“You like smooth?” His mouth is so close. His lips practically on mine.
God, I want him. But warning bells blare in my head. I should tell him to leave. Instead, I stutter over words, “I’ve never had smooth.” It’s the truth. I’ve had boys kiss me who didn’t know what they were doing, sloppy and unremarkable. I’ve had guys kiss me who were desperate and trying way too hard.
But Spencer Beckett is neither a high school boy nor a clingy college guy. He is something else entirely. He knows what to do as he lifts my chin ever so slightly. As he licks his lips, tempting me to lick my own. His eyes search mine and for a moment I feel found — or at least seen.
“You said yes before,” he rasps, blue eyes searching mine.
I whimper, “I…”
“I’m going to kiss you now, Charlie.” His head lowers, and his lips brush against mine before I have a chance to change my mind.
One kiss and I know I’m in trouble.
One taste and I know my resolve is gone.


Author Bio:
Frankie Love writes filthy-sweet stories about bad boys and mountain men. As a thirty-something mom who is ridiculously in love with her own bearded hottie, she believes in
love-at-first-sight and happily-ever-afters. She also believes in the power of a quickie.
Author links:
Website / Facebook / Instagram / Pinterest
--
Amazon bestselling author C.M. Seabrook writes hot, steamy romances with possessive bad boys, and the passionate, fiery women who love them. Swoonworthy romances from the heart!
Author links:
Website / Facebook / Goodreads / Twitter

XBTBanner1

Thursday, January 17, 2019

Book Blitz: Hot Justice by Lynn Raye Harris


Hot Justice
Lynn Raye Harris
(Hostile Operations Team #14)
Publication date: January 15th 2019
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
She’s searching for justice. He’s searching for peace.
What they need is each other. They just don’t know it yet…

Dean “Wolf” Garner is the kind of guy who loves hard and leaves fast. From the moment he rescues reporter Haylee Jamison in the Guatemalan jungle, he can’t stop thinking about the dark-haired beauty. His life is too complicated for romantic entanglements though–and not even a woman like Haylee can convince him otherwise.
Haylee wasn’t supposed to be in the drug cartel’s compound, but she was captured while on a mission of her own: find the trail of fake opioids entering the US and halt the operation. Back home in DC, Haylee can’t stop thinking about the gorgeous military operator who rocked her world for one steamy night before leaving. But when she uncovers a conspiracy and finds herself in danger, there’s only one man she trusts to keep her safe.
It’s easy for Wolf to risk his life to protect Haylee and give her the justice she desires. The hard part is taking a chance and admitting what’s in his heart before it’s too late.
Before he loses the best thing that’s ever happened to him.
“Lynn Raye Harris is the undisputed Queen of Military Romance because her Hostile Operations Team series just keeps getting better and better.” ~ Diane B.
EXCERPT:
Mexico-Guatamala Border
Dean “Wolf” Garner waited for the jump command. He was standing nut-to-butt with his teammates, all of them suited up and ready to go. This was a HAHO jump where they’d fall out of the aircraft one behind the other, open chutes about fifteen seconds in and then coast for forty miles to the landing zone. Cade “Saint” Rogers was team lead and he’d be first out the door. Wolf was second. Echo Squad would stack up behind the leader while they were airborne and follow Saint’s lead as he guided them using GPS and landmarks.
The C-130 Hercules doors were open and they’d switched over to oxygen bottles. HAHO jumps were hell on the body, whether from the minus-zero wind temps, the lack of oxygen and threat of hypoxia, or the incredible snap of the harness when the chute deployed. It was a necessary evil when trying to sneak up on the enemy, though.
They were currently at T-minus two. The PT had cleared them all to jump and the jumpmaster was about to give the signal.
“You bastards stick with me,” Saint said into their earpieces. “Let’s go get those hostages and get the fuck out.”
Seconds later, Wolf was free falling into the sky behind Saint. Wolf deployed his chute, grunting as the harness snapped him hard against the restraints. Jesus. He was carrying a hundred pounds of gear and weaponry, which made the experience even more fun.
He sighted in on Saint and lined up. The rest of the team followed, everyone checking in, and then they were gliding under canopy toward the LZ.
The sun perched in the sky behind them, sinking quickly toward the horizon. Everything below was bathed in golden light that faded into darkness the father east Wolf looked. It was a beautiful sight and he never took it for granted.
The terrain here was mountainous and green and a river cut through the landscape, marking the border. This was the area where the Mexican cartels got their rocket-propelled grenades and grenade launchers as well as other military-grade equipment they used as they fought each other for territory. It’d be fine if all they did was kill each other, but unfortunately civilians often got caught in the crossfire.
Sometimes those civilians were American, and sometimes they were held for ransom. Like now. A group of dentists and opticians on a mission to provide services to an impoverished village had been swept up in the raid and HOT had been tasked with getting them out.
It took twenty minutes, but the team touched down and shrugged out of their chutes. They buried them, along with the special jumpsuits and oxygen canisters. Then they slung their M4 rifles across their chests and started the trek toward the camp where the cartel was holding the hostages.
HOT had pictures of the camp from drone photography and they knew the layout and the approximate number of people who guarded it. Echo Squad wasn’t just there to extract hostages—they were also there to take out the cartel members who were in the camp. At last count, that had been twenty.
Wolf didn’t feel sorry for the men. They were rough, evil, nasty men who terrorized innocent civilians. They killed indiscriminately, and they left messages in the form of headless bodies dangling from bridges and trees.
No, Wolf had no problem with killing them. It took Echo another forty minutes to reach the camp. It was dark by then, and the cartel men were drinking. The hostages were nowhere to be seen, but HOT knew they were being held in a rough concrete structure in the center of the camp. Ten men and women from somewhere in Alabama, on a church mission to help the poor. They were no doubt terrified and probably dehydrated and hungry.
“Like we planned it,” Saint said into their earpieces. The team split up and fanned out around the camp. Wolf and Noah “Easy” Cross slipped silently toward their target. They waited for the signal, then glided toward the men they’d marked. A quick slip of the knife and two cartel members would never harm anyone again.
A man emerged from the building where the hostages were, dragging a woman with him. She was small and dark-haired and she fought mightily. Wolf stiffened as the man thrust her against the side of the building and dropped his mouth to her neck. She wrenched her head to the side and tried to hit him but he caught her wrist and pinned her to the wall.
Wolf signaled Easy that this one was his. Easy nodded, lifting his rifle to provide covering fire if necessary as Wolf crossed the distance. The cartel members were falling quickly as his teammates took them out. Soon, Echo would converge on the building.
The woman was fighting hard when Wolf slipped up behind the man. Before Wolf could grab him, the man grunted and stumbled backward. His hands dropped to his crotch and Wolf nearly laughed. Smart girl. Brave girl.
He yanked the man back and stabbed him in the kidney, dropping him to the ground. The woman’s dark eyes widened. She was wearing a stained white button-down shirt that had been torn open and jeans with tennis shoes. Her black hair was wild and her skin was golden, and his heart thumped once before he clamped down on the reaction.
“You’re American?” she asked in a soft southern accent. “You’ve come to rescue us?”
“Yes,” he told her, turning to place her behind him as he scanned the camp for any stragglers. Someone shouted in the distance and a shot rang out.
“Got him,” Jax “Gem” Stone said in Wolf’s ear. “Fucker.”
“Status,” Saint ordered.
“All clear,” Malcolm “Mal” McCoy replied. The rest of Echo Squad followed suit.
“Let’s get the hostages,” Saint said.
Wolf turned back to the girl, knowing that Easy had his back and that his teammates were converging on the building to extract the hostages. “You okay?” he asked, dropping his gaze over her body, back up to her eyes. Dark, fiery eyes. Angry eyes.
She lifted her chin as she pulled her shirt together. “Yes. Fine.”
“What’s your name?”
“What’s yours?” she shot back.
Wolf grinned. “Wolf.”
She blinked. “Is that really your name?”
“No, but I like it better than my real name. Which is Dean, by the way.”
“Dean.” She paused for a moment. Then she thrust out her hand. “I’m Haylee. Pleased to meet you.”
He took her hand. A sizzle of something electric rolled through him. “You always so polite in dangerous situations?”
She grinned, and his heart thumped again. “I don’t know. This is my first kidnapping.”


Author Bio:
Lynn Raye Harris is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the HOSTILE OPERATIONS TEAM SERIES of military romances as well as 20 books for Harlequin Presents. A former finalist for the Romance Writers of America's Golden Heart Award and the National Readers Choice Award, Lynn lives in Alabama with her handsome former-military husband, two crazy cats, and one spoiled American Saddlebred horse. Lynn's books have been called "exceptional and emotional," "intense," and "sizzling." Lynn's books have sold over 3 million copies worldwide.

XBTBanner1

Wednesday, January 16, 2019

Book Blitz: Wishes in a Bottle by Allie McCormack


Wishes in a Bottle
Allie McCormack
(Wishes & Dreams, #1)
Publication date: January 15th 2019
Genres: Adult, Paranormal, Romance
Centuries ago in plague-struck Italy, Julian DiConti cast a powerful spell in desperation to have the magical power to be able to help his people who were dying in horrific conditions. The spell goes spectacularly awry, leaving Julian enslaved to a Djinn bottle, bound to grant three wishes to each Master of the bottle until the spell can be broken. More than anything, Julian longs for a normal life – for a home, and a family. After six hundred years, however, he has begun to despair of ever being freed from the spell.
Enter Alessandra Taylor, a young woman who has followed her calling to help others, in the face of vociferous disapproval from her family, particularly her controlling father. Working at a shelter for battered women, she’s thrilled to meet the reclusive Julian DiConti, whose collection of garments from third world countries has provided funding for shelters across the country. When Julian turns out to be a Djinn from the old bottle she found in her attic, she hears his story and empathizes with his despair. Although she’s willing to free him, he can’t tell her how. As time goes by, their initial attraction blossoms into a love that both realize is doomed. Once she has made her third wish, the magic of the bottle will whisk Julian away and out of her life forever… unless she can somehow figure out how to free him. But one by one, she’s forced to use the precious wishes to help others.
EXCERPT:
“Betty!”
Alessandra burst into the supervisor’s office, bursting with excitement. It was her first day back at work after everything that had happened. Betty looked up from her computer monitor, peering at Alessandra over the top of her reading glasses.
“Welcome back. What’s got you in such a tweak?”
“You’ll never guess who I’ve met.” Alessandra came to perch on the corner of Betty’s desk, nudging a stack of official-looking papers aside with her hip, anticipating Betty’s response.
“Whom,” Betty corrected automatically, taking her glasses off and leaning forward, slender brows raised over grey-blue eyes sparkling with interest. “Don’t keep me in suspense. Tell me.”
Alessandra leaned forward. “Julian,” she spoke the name slowly, enunciating each syllable, “DiConti.”
She enjoyed seeing Betty’s eyes widen, hearing her audible gasp.
“No!”
Alessandra just smiled and nodded.
“Oh my God, Alessandra. How did you meet him? Where? Is he here, in New York?”
“Yes, he’s here. In fact, it turns out he lives here, in the city.”
Alessandra paused for effect, grinning at the growing anticipation on her boss’ face. A thought struck her, and she pondered. Julian’s face arose in her mind’s eye, the clear pleasure on his face when he’d learned that she worked at one of the shelters that had received donations from the fund he’d set up. He would never ask, she thought, to visit the shelter to see for himself. He’d be well aware of the security and anonymity they required. But she would bet her bottom dollar he would love to actually see for himself the difference his Foundation had made for some.
“I wonder,” she said slowly. “I wonder if we might invite him to visit, and see what improvements his donations have made possible.”
“Yes!” Betty shot out of her chair. “Alessandra, this could be wonderful for us.”
“I’ve told him a bit about what we’ve been able to do with the funds we’ve gotten from Uncommon Threads. It turns out that he’s never seen a safe house, and has only the most basic knowledge of what we do here. He told me that he’d never met anyone who’d benefited directly from his Foundation, not here in the States, I mean. I think he’d very much like to see the place, what we’ve been able to do with the extra funding.”
Betty sank back into her chair, staring at Alessandra.
“I can’t believe it. You have met Julian DiConti. You’ve actually spoken to him. Do you know he has only appeared in public once? Once! And that was at the opening of his Uncommon Threads exhibit last year. He’d never been seen before then, has never been seen since. He travels a lot, the papers say,”
Betty seemed to be still lost in amazement. She lowered her voice, leaning forward conspiratorially, “Do you know, no one has ever been able to get a picture of him? He’s never been in the paper or in a magazine, not on the Internet… nothing! Even the paparazzi can’t seem to snap a shot of him.”
Alessandra tucked that away in the back of her mind to ponder. She’d ask Julian about it later. It seemed impossible that journalists, as persistent as they were annoying, would not have gotten some shots of him. A person as wealthy and reclusive as Julian DiConti would draw paparazzi attention like bees to honey. Maybe it was something to do with the Djinn magic. Certainly one could not live for so many hundreds of years and leave a record, something by which one could be recognized, especially now with photography. How embarrassing to have a photograph of one resurface half a century later and you haven’t changed by a whisker.
Betty’s mind was already darting ahead.
“We can invite the Board of Directors, and maybe some of the…”
“No, absolutely not,” Alessandra interrupted hastily. She didn’t have to ask Julian to know what his feelings about that would be. “He wouldn’t like that at all. He’s a very private person. Really, Betty. I think he’d appreciate seeing the positive results of his efforts, to see for himself the difference that is being made. He wouldn’t want publicity, or any grand fuss made, and you know it would be bound to get out, if we told the Board. And, too, you know,” she pressed on, “the residents here wouldn’t like it, either. It would make them uncomfortable. Just being here is hard enough for most of them.”
“Yes,” Betty admitted. “But, at the same time… Mr. DiConti is such a huge contributor. More than half a million dollars, just to us! It seems almost rude not to do everything we can to welcome him.
“Bring out the red carpet and brass band?” Alessandra suggested with a laugh. “Betty, I assure you he would neither expect that, nor want it.”
Betty pursed her lips, thinking this over. “You’re sure?”
“I am.” Alessandra made her answer as firm and authoritative as she could. “I’m very sure, Betty. And I was thinking, you know. We might ask some of the women if they would be willing to talk with him, tell him their stories. He knows the stories of the women he has helped in India, why shouldn’t he hear the stories of the women here? We can let the residents know exactly when he would be here, let them choose to come out to meet him, or not.”
“He’s worth millions, you know. Billions.” Betty’s eyes held a dreamy, far-away expression. “Mostly inherited, but he’s made a pile on his own. That antique shop has been around forever. There was an article on him in People magazine when he first opened Uncommon Threads, and then when it did so well and he sent the collection on tour across America. There was an article on Whimsies, too, in that artsy magazine from the Village. No one really knows much about Julian himself, though.”
“Except that he’s worth a lot of money.” Alessandra laughed, but inside she cringed. Billionaire? Of course, six hundred years was plenty of time for financial planning, but still… It was almost impossible to comprehend. Billions of dollars? And he was living in a little glass bottle on her dresser!
It would have been funny, if it weren’t so sad. Alessandra’s heart ached for Julian. If only there were something she could do for him, some way that she could release him from the spell so that he could really live, could have a real life. She would gladly give all three of her wishes… well, the two she had left… but she would have given all of them to free him.
That spell seemed more like a curse to her. Julian was so desperately unhappy. He never said so, but she could see it in his dark azure eyes, the brooding sadness that never quite left, that lurked behind the charming smile. So many times she had caught the quiet lapses, when he retreated inside himself when he thought she was unaware. It seemed an awful punishment, no matter what he had done. She just wished she could find a way to help him.


Author Bio:
A career medical transcriptionist, Allie McCormack is now writing from home full-time. Allie has traveled quite a bit and lived many places all over the U.S., and also a year in Cairo, Egypt as an exchange student, and a year in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia under contract to a hospital there, plus a short stint with NATO while she was in the Army. As a single mom, she raised a wonderful daughter who's recently married and there are plans afoot for grandchildren. A disabled veteran, Allie now lives in the beautiful Sorona Desert in southern Arizona with her two rescue cats and writes full-time.
Allie says: "A writer is who and what I am... a romance writer. I write what I know, and what I know is romance. Dozens of story lines and literally hundreds of characters live and breathe within the not-so-narrow confines of my imagination, and it is my joy and privilege to bring them to life, to share them with others by writing their stories."

XBTBanner1

Tuesday, January 15, 2019

Book Blitz: Holli's Hellfire by Tish Thawer


Holli’s Hellfire
Tish Thawer
(The Women of Purgatory #3)
Published by: Amber Leaf Publishing
Publication date: January 15th 2019
Genres: New Adult, Paranormal, Romance
Will she choose to stay the Reaper she is, or become the Goddess she was?
Holli’s memories of her life as the Goddess Hel are starting to resurface, and the timing can’t be a coincidence.
Her father’s quest continues to threaten Purgatory, and her decision to embrace her past has the potential to save or destroy it all.
Find out in the exciting conclusion to The Women of Purgatory trilogy.



Author Bio:
2017 - #1 Bestseller in Historical Fiction (Witches of BlackBrook)
2017 - Top 100 Bestselling in Paid Kindle Store (Witches of Blackbrook)
2015 - Best Cover - Penned Con (The Witches of BlackBrook)
2015 - Readers Choice Award - My New Favorite Book Awards (The Witches of BlackBrook)
Bestselling and Award Winning Author, Tish Thawer, writes paranormal romances for all ages. From her first paranormal cartoon, Isis, to the Twilight phenomenon, myth, magic, and superpowers have always held a special place in her heart.
Tish is known for her detailed world-building and magic-laced stories. Her work has been compared to Nora Roberts, Sam Cheever, and Charlaine Harris. She has received a RONE Award nomination (Reward of Novel Excellence), as well as nominations for Best Cover, Reader’s Choice, and Author of the Year (Fantasy, Dystopian, Mystery).
Tish has worked as a computer consultant, photographer, and graphic designer, and is a columnist for Gliterary Girl media and has bylines in RT Magazine and Literary Lunes Magazine. She resides in Arizona with her husband and three wonderful children and is represented by Gandolfo, Helin, and Fountain Literary Management.
You can find Tish on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/AuthorTishThawer
A common FAQ: "How do you pronounce her last name?"
Answer: Think "Bower" or "Thow-er". It's Persian!

XBTBanner1

Monday, January 14, 2019

Book Blitz: Analiese Rising by Brenda Drake


Analiese Rising
Brenda Drake
Published by: Entangled: Teen
Publication date: January 8th 2019
Genres: Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Half-Blood meets Antigoddess in a thrilling, romantic new series from New York Times bestselling author Brenda Drake.
When a stranger gives Analiese Jordan a list of names before he dies, the last thing she expects to see is her own on it. Not. Cool. Her search for answers leads to the man’s grandson, Marek, who has dangerous secrets of his own. Both are determined to unlock the mystery of the list.
But the truth is deadly. Analiese is a descendant of the God of Death, known as a Riser, with the power to raise the dead and control them. Finding out she has hidden powers? Cool. Finding out she turns corpses into killers? No, thank you.
Now the trail plants her and Marek in the middle of a war between gods who apparently want to raise an army of the Risen, and Analiese must figure out how to save the world—from herself.
EXCERPT:
The classroom smells like a funeral home.
Hushed voices pulse over the pairs of students hunching over trays spaced across the counters. The odor of bodies fresh out of gym class mingles with the scent of formaldehyde.
Hair dampens at my temples. A crematory would be cooler.
Not many have finished their assignments. Only a few overachievers sit in the rows of empty desks on the other side of the room, their tasks completed, proud smiles on their faces.
Mrs. Cryer shuffles around the tables watching over us—a reaper waiting for lost souls, her bony finger pointing out errors. She shuffles around with purpose. She shuffles around without direction. Then she stops at our table, her eyes peering over reading glasses.
“Mr. Bove and Miss Jordan, you two are falling behind,” she says, a disapproving tsk in her voice. She only uses last names when she wants to emphasize her warning. “Best hurry before class ends.”
She continues shuffling around.
Biology is my least favorite class. Mrs. Cryer’s assignments are outdated. It’s her last year teaching, her retirement long overdue. Stern and direct, she’s not the sort of teacher I usually like, but I do. There’s an underlying kindness to Mrs. Cryer. A kindness hiding in her eyes, evident in her actions.
One of the things I like about my school: my brother, Dalton, is in the same grade. We’re not twins or anything. Actually, we’re cousins. His parents adopted me when mine were killed in a boating accident on Lake Como in Italy. I don’t remember them. I was two when that all went down.
The thing I hate about school: Dalton’s in my biology class.
“Come on, Ana.” Dalton slides the dissection tray closer to me. “I did all the setup. Just make the first cut.”
The little green body looks rubbery—almost fake—crucified to the tray with pins as it is. I push strands of dark hair from my face with a latex-gloved hand. I could’ve opted out of this barbaric ritual of separating body parts from an innocent frog.
Why did I even agree to this?


Author Bio:
Brenda Drake is a New York Times bestselling author of young adult fiction. She grew up the youngest of three children, an Air Force brat, and the continual new kid at school. Her fondest memories growing up is of her eccentric, Irish grandmother's animated tales, which gave her a strong love for storytelling. So it was only fitting that she would choose to write stories with a bend toward the fantastical. When she's not writing or hanging out with her family, she haunts libraries, bookstores, and coffee shops, or reads someplace quiet and not at all exotic (much to her disappointment).

XBTBanner1

Sunday, January 13, 2019

Interview with Lynn Crandall

Welcome to Jagged Edge Reviews! Thanks for joining us today. Now we thought we would start you off with some easier questions. 😊

Thank you so much for hosting me on your blog! It’s a pleasure to be here. Now to answer questions.

When you walk into a book store, where is the first place you go? I like to browse the various subgenres of romance. If I’m going to spend some time writing I’ll head to the café, get a black coffee, and get settled in at a table. I’m an introvert and spending time in a bookstore is my kind of social activity. I like to sit looking out over the store, breathing in the scent of books and coffee and taking in the sight of books, books, and more books.

What are you currently reading? I’m trying to read Dan Brown’s Origin. I say trying because I spend a lot of my time researching and writing, so often my eyes need a rest. I’m super excited to get more into the book.

Who are your favorite authors? I have many favorites. Some of my most favorite books were written by Madeleine Le ‘Engle, Charlotte Bronte, and Jane Austen. But I adore books by Kelley Armstrong, Kat Richardson, Jim Butcher, and many more authors.

When you’re not writing, how do you spend your time? I’m a writer. I work all the time. But…I do try for balance and enjoy hiking, biking, and spending time with my family, including my cat Willow. My husband and I moved to our first house with a fireplace two years ago, so in the cold months we enjoy sitting with a fire and just talking. We talk in warm weather too, HaHa.

Tell us about your latest book. My most recent release is a paranormal fantasy romance titled Touch Me. I wanted to write a story about losing a great love and explore what that would be like for characters who are highly evolved descendants of Atlantis born with a mission. It was challenging for me to write and I hope readers find it a different kind of fantasy romance but one worth reading. Touch Me is Book One in my Dark Sides series.

Do you have another work in progress? Tell us about it. I wish I could write four stories at once. I have several projects I’m eager to complete, including a contemporary series about the Steele brothers that begins with Love and Cherish. I’ve also begun Book Two in Darks Sides, titled See Me. I’ve also started rudimentary plotting for a women’s fiction.

What advice do you have for other writers? That’s a great question and one I can only answer from my experience. Typically writing is an author’s passion. Hold on to the passion no matter what and let it guide you. The pleasure of writing is the bottom line for why writers write. Also, I want to add that for me, writing has been a path of personal development. If a writer can see his or her writing from that perspective, it is always worth doing.

What keeps you motivated while writing? That’s an easy one – the love of writing. And I like my writing space with all its niceties: mementos from fans, collages on the walls of my stories, beautiful art, my music, and presently a diffuser.

Did you learn anything from writing your book that was unexpected? Writing Touch Me as I said was challenging but that is what I intended. Still, it was hard. And I thought I had the series plotted, loosely, but as I wrote book one I realized the story was much deeper in scope and concepts than I had expected. I’m even more interested in writing the next two books and hope I can pull it off.

Who inspires you? I must say my husband is my biggest support. He listens, he comforts, he offers suggestions, and hugs. But other authors inspire me to keep going for what I want. I see others struggle with self-doubt, physical challenges, lack of support, among other things, and yet they keep following their passion.

How do you research your books? I like to gather as much pertinent information that I can from first hand interviews with expert sources. There is always so much benefit from talking one-on-one. I get many gems from talking to those special people. For Touch Me, I was so fortunate to find, thanks to my assistant, female bounty hunter/recovery agent Michelle Gomez, who is known as the world’s best bounty hunter. She was very helpful and inspired me to be a strong, feisty woman like her.
But of course I do online research as well. It often directs me to other people.

What are your thoughts on self-publishing verses traditional publishing? Nice question! I am published with a traditional publisher, but at this point in my career I made a conscious decision to self-publish my Dark Sides series. I have self-published several novellas and short stories, but Touch Me is my first indie published full novel. I think the industry has plenty of room for both kinds of publishing. I am enjoying having complete control over my writing and writing something different, but it is a lot of work to promote my book and attract attention. I still like it, though.

What is one of your favorite quotes? Oh man, I am a collector of sayings and quotes. Here’s one from one of The Librarian movies: You are about to begin a most wondersome adventure from which you will never be the same.

What do you like to snack on while you write? I mostly drink coffee. I also like this saying: Get up. Drink coffee. Make stuff up.

What is your biggest pet peeve? Waiting.

Where can people find out more about you and your writing? Please visit my website at https://www.lynn-crandall.com/
Facebook Page https://www.facebook.com/LynnCrandallAuthor/
my readers group https://www.facebook.com/groups/LynnCrandallReadingMaestros/?source_id=309463185822350, my Amazon author page https://www.amazon.com/Lynn-Crandall/e/B00AX9OA40/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1 ,
Instagram https://www.instagram.com/lcrandall246/, Pinterest https://www.pinterest.com/lynncrandallwriter/
BookBub https://www.bookbub.com/authors/lynn-crandall?list=author_books

Saturday, January 12, 2019

The Reverse Play by Julia Clarke

The Reverse Play, a contemporary reverse harem sports romance by Julia Clarke
🏈❤️🏈❤️🏈🏈❤️🏈❤️🏈🏈❤️🏈🏈❤️🏈🏈❤️
About the book:
Football is my life, and coaching in the NFL is my dream. I have a doctorate in sports psychology, but the fact that I’m a woman means I couldn’t possibly know a thing about football, let alone coaching a team. At least, that’s what my critics say. Others argue a woman on the sidelines would be a distraction.

Distraction. Pfft. I’m a professional, and I certainly don’t fall for players.

When I land my dream job coaching the Boston Rebels, I realize just how difficult it will be to maintain a hands-off approach to the team. Everything about them, from their broad shoulders and thick biceps to their chiseled abs and narrow waists, makes it so I’m the one who’s having trouble staying focused.

As if that weren’t bad enough, I’m attracted to not one, but three, players. Three offensive players who keep breaking through my defenses.

I’m their coach, but absolutely nothing in my playbook prepared me for this. My head seems to understand they’re completely off-limits, but my heart is pulling a reverse play.

About Julia:
An adventurer at heart, Julia dabbles in everything from tap dance to calligraphy. When she's not traveling with her husband or playing with her daughter, Julia is learning new recipes, hiking, sailing, or inhaling copious amounts of fine chocolate.

To learn more about Julia Clarke visit www.authorjuliaclarke.com

Popular Posts