Thursday, July 25, 2013

Review: Sworn To Raise

Title:  Sworn to Raise
Author: Terah Edun
Publisher: All Night Reads
Publication Date: 
 April 10, 2013
Reviewer:  Carissa

Summary: Seventeen-year-old Ciardis has grown up in poverty, a cleaner in a small vale on the outskirts of the kingdom. But beneath her kingdom’s seemingly idyllic surface lies a hidden secret. Whispers of an inept crown Prince are growing ever louder—intensified by the five year anniversary of the soulbond initiations.

Amidst scandalous whispers, Ciardis finds herself chosen to train for the Companion’s Guild. She leaves her home and sets off on a personal journey to become a Court Companion. A position she’d never thought possible for a lowly servant to obtain, she must prove that she has the skills to attract a Patron.

But she must master those skills quickly. If the legends are true, only Ciardis can harness the power to raise a Prince in an Imperial Court sworn to bring him down.

This sensational series debut melds intricate storylines with remarkable characters and unforgettable magic. Sworn To Raise is ideal for fans of Kristin Cashore, Michelle Sagara, and Maria Snyder.

Review: Ciardis wants nothing more than security in life, which is why she was planning to marry her long time boyfriend. Trouble is, he impregnated another girl and is forced to marry her. Obviously, Ciardis is mad! So when a Court Companion visits her town and offers Ciardis an apprenticeship as a Companion, she takes it. (Companions are women that magically complement they’re patron. Companions often end up married to their patrons.) It turns out that Ciardis is a Weathervane, meaning she has a rare talent to make others’ magic more powerful. A lot of people would like a Companion with that ability. So Ciardis is all ready for the Patron Hunt, in which Companions showcase their abilities, when she finds that the Prince needs her help.

OK, so I know that was a bit of a ramble, but I promise you, Sworn to Raise is an extraordinary read! The idea is totally unique and Terah Edun has done an excellent job building the world!

12+ for bad language, 10/10 stars!!

I look forward to reading more by Terah Edun, especially Sworn to Transfer, the forthcoming 2nd book in the Courtlight series!

Thanks for the review copy through NetGalley!

No comments:

Popular Posts