Thank you for visiting Jagged Edge Reviews. We have a lot of exciting reviews, guest posts, cover reveals and book blitz coming up! I apologize we are going through a bit of a change as we have been away for a short time but we are getting back into the swing of things! Just getting a bit organized again, please be patient.

Wednesday, July 3, 2013

Review: A Countess Below Stairs


Title: A Countess Below Stairs
Author: Eva Ibbotson
Publisher: Speak
Publication Date: 
 May 10, 2007
Reviewer: Carissa

Summary: A delicious historical romance perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and Upstairs, Downstairs

After the Russian Revolution turns her world topsy-turvy, Anna, a young Russian countess, has no choice but to flee to England. penniless, Anna hides her aristocratic background and takes a job as servant in the household of the esteemed Westerholme family, armed only with an outdated housekeeping manual and sheer determination. Desperate to keep her past a secret, Anna is nearly overwhelmed by her new duties--not to mention her instant attraction to Rupert, the
handsome Earl of Westerholme. to make matters worse, Rupert appears to be falling for her as well. As their attraction grows stronger, Anna finds it more and more difficult to keep her most dearly held secrets from unraveling. And then there's the small matter of Rupert's beautiful and nasty fiancee. . . .

Review: I loved, loved, loved this book! Everything was perfect, the romance, the plot, the END! I loved how Anna could befriend the servants just as easily as the nobility, and wasn't constantly having to choose between them. I loved how Rupert was so blatantly honest, and how even when it was clear Rupert's fiancée, Muriel, wasn't his soul mate, he wouldn't go back on his word (proposal). And when Muriel does something really bad (read it, and you'll know what I'm talking about), I really yelled out in justified anger!
    This  book was amazing, fantastic, fabulous, enjoyable, and adventurous. I guess what I'm trying to say is that you have to read The Countess Below Stairs.
 10 of 10 stars (Congrats!), and Ages 10+

No comments:

Popular Posts